Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-18-2014, 06:36 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Paradise Hill
Posts: 6
Furnace Wont Light

Hi I'm experiancing a problem with my furnace not lighting. when i adjust the thermostat it will kick the fan on to purge the furnace i'm guessing but wont try to light. The fan will just continuously run. I know with my home furnace when the furnace will continue to run it is in fault mode. Is there a reset i could be missing or a fuse that could be the problem. Not sure where my fuse box is on the camper. I have a jayco Qwest 1999. The furnace is a hydroflame 1825 111. thanks.
__________________

PapaGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-18-2014, 10:54 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,303
Is this the first time you have tried to use the furnace this season? It may take a while for the gas to reach the furnace.
__________________

__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 08:26 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Paradise Hill
Posts: 6
Yes it is but we were having this issue last year when the fridge and stove were working at the time. I would think if it was trying to light i should here the gas valve click to try and open to light the furnace.
PapaGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 08:40 AM   #4
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Johnsonville
Posts: 58
Go turn your gas off at the tank and then open the valve slowly and try to light, if that doesn't help then try to turn it off and back on for a minute or so about 10 times to get the air out. If it doesn't light check the exhaust for bees nest spiders etc.

It also might be things blocking your vents not letting the sail switch open the gas. Or the sail switch may have some spider webs or dust bunnies on it.

If the fan is running without timing out it sounds like a gas supply problem rather than a switch though.

Also you might check for kinked gas lines leading to the furnace.
__________________
Jayco 32bhds

Daytripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 08:43 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Paradise Hill
Posts: 6
Ok thanks. I was thinking the sail switch myself because like I said it don't seem to be trying to ignite. The fan is just running continuously.
PapaGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 09:26 AM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Johnsonville
Posts: 58
Quote:
Originally Posted by PapaGNO View Post
Ok thanks. I was thinking the sail switch myself because like I said it don't seem to be trying to ignite. The fan is just running continuously.
If it was the sail switch, the fan would stop after a minute or so. Sounds like air in the lines or kinked gas line, bad valves or something like that. Still check the vents and exhaust though.
__________________
Jayco 32bhds

Daytripper is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-19-2014, 11:02 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Paradise Hill
Posts: 6
So I went and tried it again. I disconnect the gas line right before the the valve where it ties in behind the trailer by the motor. I could smell propane instantly and hear it being released. I also put my hand over the exhaust and seems to be good air flow. I also went inside the camper and put hand over register and seems to be good air flow. The fan will still just run contiuously without trying to ignite. Im thinking if it tried to light I should hear the gas valve clicking open or something trying to ignite. Will the fan cut back when it trys to ignite? if so it defineatly is not. but if the motor is not kicking out after a minute u say it is not the sail switch? Could it be the DSI board then not sending the signal to the gas valve to open and ignite?
PapaGNO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 07:28 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
Could it possibly be a bad control board? We had that go out on a brand new unit. In fact, It came from the factory with a bad board!
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 08:58 AM   #9
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: calgary
Posts: 28
Check your hot surface ignitor or your pilot light .Usually when the fan runs constantly 90%of the time it will be a high limit switch. High limit switch should be located right above the burners it's going to be two wires going to it jump those two wires together and if the furnace ignites then replace hi limit switch.
Ali#1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-20-2014, 11:40 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: charlotte
Posts: 12
Quote:
Originally Posted by namusmc65 View Post
Could it possibly be a bad control board? We had that go out on a brand new unit. In fact, It came from the factory with a bad board!

Thats what happened to us
__________________

User Name: is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:30 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.