Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-17-2016, 06:57 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 20
Furrion Frustrated

So DW and I love the theater seats and 39 inch HDTV in our 2016 RSBS with one huge flaw.
THE REMOTES !!!!!
We understand the RV industry uses a tight budget for some of its vendors but this is extremely low budget equipment.
Why can they not at least combine the sound system remote into the TV remote? After all it's the SAME VENDOR !!!!
Anyone know of a good universal remote to replace the Furrion remotes ?
And to add to the confusion we have a ROKU and need a remote for that.
A good all in one that works all 3 would be great
Thanks for any suggestions
__________________

MikeDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 07:31 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2016
Location: SW Washington
Posts: 972
Years ago I purchased a Logitech for home use. It was quite expensive at the time but one of the better investments that eliminated all of the remotes in my living room and has given me years of service . It is easily reprogrammed using their website and has the ability to control multiple devices at the same time and run macros to turn multiple devices on/off and set the various inputs. While this is probably more than is needed for the simple situation you described I'm sure that Logitech has a product that will meet your needs.
__________________

__________________
2009 F350 CC LB 4WD
2017 Jayco 355MBQS
Rustysocket is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 07:52 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Cosmik Debris's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2013
Location: Missoula, Montana
Posts: 554
I'd agree with the recommendation of Logitech. I've used their first model of Harmony remote for livingroom home entertainment center for a decade. One of our devices is a roku.
To program a Harmony, you cable connect it to a PC and select each device you own from a list. That downloads the codes. You then walk through setting things up, like "When you watch TV do you cintrol volume with (tv model) or (stereo model)?" When done, you'll have "activities" that you select and it does it all.
You can briwse the device list on their website to make sure it handles the unit you have, but it also has a "learn command" feature from existing remote.
__________________
"I might be movin' to Montana soon..."

2013 Eagle 29.5RKS
2013 Ford 6.7L diesel F350
Cosmik Debris is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 08:02 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
I use a Sony learning remote to control our TV, DVD player/Radio/Amp and a separate DVD player: Clicky Here. It is about $20.
__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 11:16 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2015
Location: Lebanon
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by RVhiker View Post
I use a Sony learning remote to control our TV, DVD player/Radio/Amp and a separate DVD player: Clicky Here. It is about $20.
Thank you
Does the Sony remote work with the Furrion TV and audio system ? How about a Roku ?
Thanks again
MikeDE is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2016, 11:58 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
Quote:
Originally Posted by MikeDE View Post
Does the Sony remote work with the Furrion TV and audio system ? How about a Roku ?
Thanks again
The Sony remote model I mentioned comes with a booklet of device codes which you input into the remote to tell it what device and what codes you wish to set up. I expect that the Roku codes are listed, but I'm not so sure about the Furrion.

If your device is not in the code listing, you can teach the remote the codes for your device; simply put, you put your device's remote in front of the Sony remote, press a button - say volume control - and your device's remote signals the volume control code. The Sony remote will learn that code and work to control the volume. There is an instruction booklet which explains all this; it is easy to do, but the steps and buttons required for various ways to set up the device are a bit involved.

The Logitech's sound like they are a bit more user friendly, but the cheaper Sony works well for us.
__________________

__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:32 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.