Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-17-2015, 11:00 PM   #1

Gas stations...tips?

Hi,

Rookie question...are there any general theories or tips for getting fuel when hitched up? I am towing a 2013 Jay Flight 26BH behind my Ram, my total length is almost 50 feet.

I am new to this and somewhat "white knuckling". At some point when we starting doing longer trips I am going to need to get fuel while hitched up. I find myself looking at every gas station I pass when driving around now trying to think about if I could fit my set up in/out without removing half of the trailer siding in the process.

A bit of sarcasm there, there are much larger rigs out there (hell, the b-train rigs carrying fuel to gas stations are way longer). But are there any general rules of thumb you guys use when sizing up where you can squeeze in for gas vs. drive on and look for something better?

Cheers,
Corey
Old 08-18-2015, 12:29 AM   #2

This has always been a challenge for me, and now with a motorhome pulling a toad it is an even bigger concern as I cannot reverse out if needed.

My first tip, never dip below a 1/4 tank. That way you leave yourself plenty of room for error should you have to hunt for a location. It probably means stopping every 3 hours to refuel, but really that is probably a decent schedule to strech your legs out anyway.

Secondly... Flying J ... Somehow in 9 years of pulling trailers I have never stopped at a Flying J until today.... Holy Carp what a difference. The one I was at had seperate RV designated lanes that were easy pull throughs. This one even had a Propane pump at it so I was able to drive up the lane, get my on board propane tank filled, pull ahead and fill my fuel tanks and then pay it all as one bill.