Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-18-2021, 01:53 PM   #1

Gray Water Tank Question

I am an RV newbie and recently purchased a 2019 White Hawk MRB. If this topic has already been discussed in this forum, please forgive me for posting this again here.

Hooked my water up to a city water connection for the first time. The connection made is correct on the RV where it says "City Water Connection", and I have a water pressure regulator attached at the water spigot.

Checked for leaks...none...turned on cold water faucets to allow for air pockets to escape. Water comes thru all faucets...no problem.

After a short time, I noticed water rising in the kitchen sink. Ran and shut water off. Opened the Gray Water tank valve, and water came gushing out of the tank that was previously dry and empty.

Does anyone here have any suggestions as to what might cause the gray tank to fill when connected to city water?

Thank you!!
jdr0752 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 02:11 PM   #2

The first thing that comes to mind is that the tank wasn't drained in the beginning.
Jim Davis is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-18-2021, 02:20 PM   #3

Quote:
Originally Posted by Jim Davis View Post
The first thing that comes to mind is that the tank wasn't drained in the beginning.
Thank you for your reply.

The grey water tank was completely empty before the city water was connected. So that does not appear to be the problem.
Old 09-18-2021, 02:27 PM   #4

There is no physical connection between the grey water tank and the freshwater lines unless the previous owner changed something.

Only other thing is a faucet was left on accidentally.
Old 09-18-2021, 05:30 PM   #5