Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 09-17-2019, 08:01 PM   #1

Handy or Handsome...

So... I've been RVing for about 11 years now. I'm into my 3rd and largest TT. It's been the best of the 3. I know because only this one has been back to a dealer for anything, and they only kept it 3 days to replace the DVD player. During these 11 years, I've fixed just about everything imaginable on my trailer and on a friend's trailer. Some folks just are not good at fixing stuff... and he ain't. He's really good at being a friend, so, I do all I can for him.

As I read through these threads, I learn from the mistakes and triumphs over problems of others. So, I can afford this craziness, usually. After all, the Goobermint says I can work on airplanes. But it strikes me that so many have their RVs at the dealer more than at their storage facility or at home. If it's out of warranty, some of those repair bills must be pretty big. So far the only thing I couldn't fix were the axles. They were bent and out of warranty. So it took me a morning and $450- to get those fixed. I also went through all the bearings and replaced 1 set before taking it for alignment. By the way, I just replaced a switch for my friend after the dealer's tech told him his entire awning would have to be replaced... $21- instead of $1600-

So, tell us your story. Are you handy... or just well heeled? Do you do your own repairs or do you wait for the dealer to get it fixed? If you do trust the dealer with your unit... do you really trust them? Don't get me wrong, there are some good RV dealers, but they're all out to make a buck.
Old 09-17-2019, 08:10 PM   #2

I’ve just moved into a fancy new 2017 Jayco 29RKS. Before I had a 1978 prowler. With an older trailer like that you have to be handy. Of course the bears will help keep you busy. Click image for larger version

Name:	IMG_2007.JPG
Views:	85