Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-16-2015, 08:51 AM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Oswego
Posts: 48
Hard wired or plug in EMS on 2016 27RLS

Hello all, We are awaiting the delivery of a 2016 27 RLS. I plan on purchasing a Progressive Industries EMS, but am not sure if i want it hard wired, or plugin. Has anyone installed one of these on this camper? Is there an easily accessible area to mount the hard wired version (which is what I would prefer to install)? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Regards, Dave
__________________

cosmo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 09:14 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
TWP723's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Abingdon
Posts: 3,593
That was my problem with the hard-wired version, there was no acceptable place (short of taking the camper apart) for me to mount it so I went with the pluggable version. Works great! Has a metal tab on it for a lock and chain. I use a heavy duty chain to lock it to the CG power post. You'd be surprised how many people DON'T have one. EVERYBODY was asking what it was.
__________________

__________________
2013 Jayco Eagle 328 RLTS
2013 Ford F350 6.7L 4x4 CCLB
W/Air Lift air bags (front & rear)
Equal-I-Zerô WDH
Me, Momma and Charles (RIP buddy)
And introducing Sofie!! ;)
TWP723 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 09:31 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Filthy-Beast's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Chicago
Posts: 269
On my 31 RLDS there was a standard electrical junction box behind a panel. The panel was blocking the lowest location of a storage cabinet. The junctions box is where the power cord connected to trailer wiring. Replaced the box with the EMS took 20 minutes. Ran the remote up to a shelf higher in the cabinet. Since the display is always on I wanted it out of site while still being easy to see.

When you do the PDI have them show where the power cord connects to trailer. you could always pay to have them install it. I prefer to do it myself, saves money, is done right, I know where everything is and how it's wired.

It was eye opening, TV on microwave on, AC on it was pulling 40amps through a 30amp outlet and wires. New rule, no microwave while AC is cranking.
__________________
2015 Jay Flight 31 RLDS
2015 F250, Reese straightline
Ham Lic: W4TFB
Filthy-Beast is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 09:44 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
If I had one I would most definitely look to install it on the inside somewhere...

Of course they need to be somewhere where you can get to it to reset things when it trips...

I imagine these would be a prime thief item. They sure are not cheap...

Maybe the savings grace in the thief world would be they are usually active at the camp grounds maybe making the thieves think twice about messing with something 120VAC active.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 05:38 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Peachtree City, Georgia
Posts: 256
As for placement of a hard wired unit, every model is different. I put a hard wired Progressive in my 2009 Eagle 256RKS and it was a bear. I had to takeout the IOTA converter and move a bunch of wires.

My new 2015 Eagle was a piece of cake. The junction box was under the rear bed. Total time to install was about 15 minutes.
__________________

2012 Ram 2500 Crew Cab 4x4 5.7 Hemi 4.10
2015 Jayco Eagle 284BHBE
2009 Jayco Eagle Super Lite 256RKS
2007 Jayflight 20BH
1997 Fleetwood Cheyenne PUP
1984 Rockwood 1080 - PUP 1969 Coleman PUP
gcloss is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 06:34 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,006
We had a 30A pole mount for a couple of years. Had a lock but used it only once and gave the EMS to my neighbor when we sold the HTT. I always wondered if it would go on a walk about but I was lucky. Bought a wired version when we got the 5th.
I prefer the hard-wire version (remote display).
My SOP is:
verify house and pole breakers "off"
Plug in power
Pole breakers "on"
Watch the EMS display to see it's happy
House breakers "on"
Tell the bride "A/C on"!
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 06:41 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,025
Quote:
Originally Posted by cosmo View Post
Hello all, We are awaiting the delivery of a 2016 27 RLS. I plan on purchasing a Progressive Industries EMS, but am not sure if i want it hard wired, or plugin. Has anyone installed one of these on this camper? Is there an easily accessible area to mount the hard wired version (which is what I would prefer to install)? Any guidance would be greatly appreciated. Regards, Dave
Dave,
Like you, I'd like to have a hard wired Progressive Industries EMS. One of the ideas I'm kicking around is to convert the pull out 30amp cord to a removable cord and modify the interior 'end table' (where the pull out cord is now stored) to be much smaller (think 'wall wart') and hold the EMS. I looked at the Progressive Industries manual and didn't see any ventilation requirements for the unit.

DW and I REALLY dislike the loss of the floor that is dedicated to cord storage in an otherwise stellar 27RLS floorplan.
__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 06:55 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
3'senough's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: New York
Posts: 2,072
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyBraddy View Post
If I had one I would most definitely look to install it on the inside somewhere...

Of course they need to be somewhere where you can get to it to reset things when it trips...

I imagine these would be a prime thief item. They sure are not cheap...

Maybe the savings grace in the thief world would be they are usually active at the camp grounds maybe making the thieves think twice about messing with something 120VAC active.

Roy Ken
The hardwire remote Progressive ones automatically reset and keeps checking every 20 seconds or so and throwing a code to tell you something is wrong. Once corrected it will reset automatically. There is nothing manual on these models.

Now if you fry it then yes you may need to access it and replace.
__________________

2014 375 BHFS Eagle Premier
2014 Ram 3500 Longhorn DRW CC
6.7 CTD, Aisin, 4.10's
Yamaha EF3000iSEB
3'senough is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 07:16 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Silver Spring, MD
Posts: 1,068
On my trailer, the wiring junction box is below the main pantry, in the same compartment as the water heater. There was plenty of room to install the hardwired, so that's what I did. No worries about it walking away in the middle of the night... plus I got the unit with the remote panel and generator bypass switch. That way I still have protection if I use a generator.
spoon059 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-16-2015, 08:28 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Nighthawk 96's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Columbia SC
Posts: 571
My trailer has the same floorplan as yours, so you can mount it in the table between the two chairs in the living area.

I installed the PI hardwired model with an exterior display, which keeps you constantly informed. While I was doing this I turned my cable into a quick disconnect with
Marinco (30ARVKIT) 30 Amp Detachable Power Conversion Kit about $90 at Amazon

Got the EMS from Tweetys as it was cheaper than Amazon.

There is a switch that bypasses the EMS if you use a generator, since the generator does not appear to be grounded by the EMS and will not allow the current to pass thru it.

I was tired of stuffing the cable into the area under the table.

Since I see you are new to the forum, another upgrade you should consider is to install a digital thermostat in place of the analague one that comes with the trailer. Much better temperature control. There is a Coleman direct replacement one from Amazon for about $70. Well worth the $$ and easy to install. Search the forum for threads on this subject.

Good luck with your new trailer, we love the floorplan of ours and
Welcome to the forum!
__________________

__________________
2012 Toyota Tundra 5.7 Litre DoubleCab
6 speed, 4.30 Limited Slip, Tow Package
2013 Jayco White Hawk 27DSRL
2010 Jayco JayFlight 26BH sold
Yamaha EF2000is Generators (2)
1996 Honda CB750 Nighthawk
Nighthawk 96 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 04:55 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.