Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 08-16-2011, 10:05 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
hd directv

Any tips or suggestions on best way to hook up satellite dish for hd directv?
__________________

brhwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 10:54 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
Are you asking what kind of dish and mount to use, or are you asking how to get the satellite signal from the dish to inside your trailer?
__________________

__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 12:54 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,523
The first step, IMHO, is to contact Jayco and get a wiring schematic for your RV so you will know exactly which wire runs where. They emailed mine to me in a few minutes while I was on the line with their engineering support person.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 01:31 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Thanks, Rvhiker, all of the above.
brhwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 06:24 PM   #5
Member
 
jeeperx2's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2011
Location: Des Moines, Iowa
Posts: 56
Whats the year & model of your TT?

When i got my TT there was a sticker in the window for sat. service for the rv ,we had a local cable company at the time but i wanted to switch the house also , so i called the # on the sticker , i switched my house over with loads of free install stuff-including a tri-pod,dish & how to dvd for the rv! here's the # i called - 1-888-997-8388 RV Direct.

Does your TT have any cable wiring in it? i assume it does.
Everything on my TT is labeled - city cable , sat.tv thats at outside rear of my trailer. Inside I have 2 outlets at the TV One with the booster is for antenna and the other is for sat.tv.
__________________
1988 chevy c3500 dually:freak:
2010 Eagle 324BHDS
EU3000is honda generator
Reese Dual Cam 1200# WD Hitch
jeeperx2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-16-2011, 06:45 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
RVhiker's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Posts: 1,253
You have some decisions to make.

You can take a receiver from your house to use in your RV (fairly cheap, but if you camp outside the "footprint" of your local channels, you don't have ABC CBS NBC FOX). Or you can establish an RV account for your trailer, and get the national versions of ABC CBS NBC FOX nationally anywhere.

Do you want to buy an automatic dish (expensive) or a simple dish and tripod (fairly cheap) that you setup yourself. My understanding (tentative) is that there is not an automatic dish at this time that will get DTv HD signals (only SD signals). If you go the cheap route, you will probably have to get a fairly expensive meter (~$240 and up) so you can get good signals on the HD satellites. A fairly cheap meter, or maybe none, is needed to get SD signals only. Some can get HD signals without a meter, but not me.

On the outside of your trailer is (probably) a TV cable inlet. It connects to your amplifier and through that to your RV TV antenna. Your satellite setup will not work like that. There is probably a short jumper on the inside of your trailer that connects that inlet wire to the amplifier. To use the inlet for satellite reception, you disconnect the jumper wire and connect your receiver to the inlet coming from the outside. If your trailer does not have such a jumper wire, you can install one yourself if you want to.

In my opinion, a very good source of DTv information is this site:http://www.dbstalk.com/forumdisplay.php?f=82 There are lots of people there who do exactly what you are wanting to do.
__________________
There's lots of advice and information in forums... sometimes it is correct. For example, all of my posts are made by a political appointee who got the job as a reward for contributions to my diesel bill.

2011 Jayco 28.5RLS; 2008 Chevy Duramax; Pullrite Superglide Hitch

RVhiker is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 08:06 AM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2011
Posts: 20
Hi FWIW, I have a directv dish (old SD dish) that I take with me and an old SD box from my house (I acitivate box april-oct @ $6/month extra to my bill). Wherever I go, I setup the dish and I get all my channels just like home, including my home locals (even if I'm outside of my home footprint for local channels). I don't tell directv what/where I'm using the dish for, not sure if that matters or how that would change the setup?....

Just thought I'd share...
Mike
heppdj2 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2011, 08:54 AM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 5
Ok, thanks all. I have the 2011 26RLS.
__________________

__________________
2007 Lincoln Navigator
2011 Jayco 26RLS
Go Frogs!!
brhwoods is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 08:20 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.