Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-07-2020, 11:51 AM   #1

Help with my fresh water hook up plan

Since I have never done it before, I would like to run my fresh water / hook up solution by you experienced RVers.

Background: 2019 like new -and new to me- SLX 175 RD Baja (30 gal FW). Short term will be about 50/50 boon docking and hook ups. When possible, I plan to tow it dry for reasons of weight concern. The water will be used for flushing, cleaning and showering, but not cooking. For now, we will be no more than a few days in any one stop.

Equipment: I have an inlet 90 degree elbow, disposable in line filter, a 25’ Camco 5/8 ID Water hose, and a brass pre set 40-50 psi regulator. I have a Camco Filler for when not connected, and will carry an “empty” 5 gallon jug.

Questions:

1. I only want to take a 25’ fresh water hose. I recognize many use 50’. If 25’ will accommodate me 90% of the time, I am ok lugging water the other 10% since our stops will be short right now. Is this reasonable expectation? In your experiences, can you USUALLY get away with 25’ ?

2. Is there tangible benefit to a 5/8 vs. 1/2 ID hose?

3. Is this a good install sequence:
Source > Regulator > Hose > Filter > 90 elbow > Inlet.
Is the elbow required if I use a short hose protector on the filter?

4. The trailer and manual are not with me right now. When connected to city water source, do you manually turn off pumps and remove the FW tank from the equation, or does CW connection feed tanks in some way? Sorry for that novice question …

Thanks for the help.
Vista is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-07-2020, 12:17 PM   #2

Hi, this is just my few on your issues.

question 1 you can take what ever works for you the best. I have 25ft water hose works great for me.