Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-19-2021, 05:29 AM   #1

hitch set up

I have an 18 silverado and I have a wdh. It seems like the back of the truck skates around a little. I tried to loosen the chains one (1) link and didnt help. They were pretty tight. Should I try to make them tighter?

I did not seem to have this issue with my 09 silverado

thanks
Chris
chrismoore701 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 05:53 AM   #2

I am not an expert, I will say that when I was not comfortable with the way my trailer towed I went back to the install manual for the WDH in redid everything. It was much better have that.
Rcgreat is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 07:06 AM   #3

What is your brand of hitch? Andersen have chains but so do some bar type hitches.

In my case and I assume most others the purpose of the hitch is to transfer weight from the rear tires to the front to maintain safe steering and braking.

Is your problem there is so much weight gone from the back that it is driving oddly??

One thing to do is to weight your back and front axles without the trailer attached and with them attached to see what the hitch is doing. But I wonder exactly what your problem is as I have never experienced or read about so much weight off the rear to cause driving problems.
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-19-2021, 07:56 AM   #4

Here you go. This works great!

David's RV Tips: Hitch Setup
Old 08-19-2021, 12:19 PM   #5

Have you weighed your setup? If not, I would strongly consider taking the three CAT scale measurements when fully loaded with a full tank of fuel.

https://www.jaycoowners.com/forums/f...v-tt-3871.html