Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-09-2020, 12:34 PM   #1

Hot Water Heater Not Working

Good Afternoon Jayco Family,

We recently got a New to Us 2015 Jay Flight SLX 267BHSW. My Wife wanted to take a shower, so I turned on the Heater Switch for the Hot Water Heater and left.

We came back about an hour later and we didn't have any Hot Water. I went and Opened the Cover. There was No Flame. I went back inside and turned the system off for several minutes. Then turned it back on.

I went outside and saw the Ignited lite the Flame. It ran about 5 seconds and went out. Then, about 5 seconds later, the Flame lit again for about 5 seconds and went out.

I then noticed a High Pitched Whine coming from the "Black Control Block" in the Upper Right Hand of the Panel.

I am New to RVing. Where should I start Troubleshooting? What should I be Looking/Testing for?

Thank You In Advance for Your Help!

Scott
Scott&Leslie is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-09-2020, 02:22 PM   #2

Guessing that you have an Atwood water heater, here's a full troubleshooting guide - http://rvrepairmanual.com/manuals/At...er-Heaters.pdf

In most cases that I have seen with these, it's the last line on page 19... A lot of people on this forum have replaced the circuit board with the Dinosaur UIB64 which is a direct replacement and runs around $110 on Amazon.

Colby
Eastern Ontario, Canada
2018 Jayco 212QB
2020 Ford F150 SuperCrew
colby is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-19-2020, 06:19 AM   #3

Hot Water Heater Not Working

Good Morning Colby,

Thank You for Your Information!

After searching for All of the Videos I could find, and reading all about the issues people had gone through, and considering the age of this TT, I went ahead and got the Dinosaur Board from Amazon.

It was about a 10 min Install. Then, we tested it and Voila!

The Hot Water Heater is Now Working!!!