Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-07-2015, 12:46 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2012
Posts: 43
How much current do 2 AC unit really draw ?

Larger Jayco TT offer 2 AC units as an option. That option does require the 50A power option. I haven't done any camping in awhile, but none of the places I stayed at 15+ years ago had 50A service !

So my question is, how much power does 2 AC units draw ? With refrigerator ? Withe refrigerator and water heater ? (I am guessing that without the refrigerator and water heater it is less than 30A. Microwave may bump it over.)
__________________

theoldwizard1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 01:12 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 1,542
You may get lucky and run both A/C units on 30 amp service But get ready to be resetting the CB anytime that both compressors kick on at the same time They most likely will trip the CB


My 13500 BTU takes 14.4 amps add a second unit and now your up to 28.8 amps.
If there is any drop in voltage the amps will increase causing the breaker to trip.


Ask your self this. Why do two A/C units require 50 amp service? Is it because those that design electrical systems know what is required to run two A/C units
__________________

__________________
2004 Jay Feather 25E
2001 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.55 rear
2004 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.73 rear
bedrck46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 01:14 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 1,542
Also most campgrounds have 50 amp sites available


You would also need to consider the amp draw of those units that are normally under power when connected to shore power The converter, O2 detectors and any 12 V lights that you have on will cause an added draw on the system
__________________
2004 Jay Feather 25E
2001 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.55 rear
2004 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.73 rear
bedrck46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 01:35 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2011
Location: Upperco, Md.
Posts: 803
My take has always been that if I have 30 amp service I can run 1 AC only. I have been in campgrounds that have old or under sized electric service that will have enough voltage drop that I haven't been able to use the AC and microwave at the same time without putting the compressor in danger..
Ela1948 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 01:41 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
Each of the Mach 8's will probably draw about 13 amps running, but that isn't the problem the start surge is what draws the higher amps. Each AC is on a seperate 20 amp breaker
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 04:52 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 3,092
Maybe the campgrounds you stayed at 15 years ago have upgraded to 50amp service since then... I haven't stayed at a campground in our two years of camping that didn't offer 50amp service ... But I realize there are lots of places we haven't been either..
__________________
2017 JayFlight 28BHBE
2014 JayFlight Swift 264BH (Sold)
2007 GMC 2500 Sierra Classic Crew Cab LBZ Duramax / 6spd Allison
SouthCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 07:04 PM   #7
bap
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Walpole
Posts: 218
Quote:
Originally Posted by SouthCo View Post
Maybe the campgrounds you stayed at 15 years ago have upgraded to 50amp service since then... I haven't stayed at a campground in our two years of camping that didn't offer 50amp service ... But I realize there are lots of places we haven't been either..
There is a lot that don't have 50 amp service. I have stayed in more that don't have 50 amp than those that do.
__________________
TV 2013 RAM 1500 4x4 Tradesman W/5.7L Hemi 6spd auto w/3.55 rears
TT 2009 Jayco Jayflight G2 29BHS
bap is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 08:10 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 3,092
Quote:
Originally Posted by bap View Post
There is a lot that don't have 50 amp service. I have stayed in more that don't have 50 amp than those that do.

Where do u camp? Just asking. I've camped from PA south to FL and everyone has. But again we have only done about 10 different places in the last 2 years....
__________________
2017 JayFlight 28BHBE
2014 JayFlight Swift 264BH (Sold)
2007 GMC 2500 Sierra Classic Crew Cab LBZ Duramax / 6spd Allison
SouthCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-07-2015, 09:05 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: north az
Posts: 305
Sometimes, one of those dual a/c's is a 15k. That will usually bump a 30amp service, it you run a 13.5 and 15 together..
arkhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-08-2015, 07:44 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 1,944
Pretty sure that the dual unit rvs are designed to run on 50A especially when running both ac's. People who try to "run" stuff on limited power, are risking damaging electronics and a/c units or at best are shortening their live expectancy. Connect to 50A that is almost always available at some of the sites in most CG's where ever we have stayed.
__________________

Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 03:23 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.