Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-17-2018, 04:32 PM   #1

How Much Propane do I have?

I just bought a used 2017 Jayco Jayflight 28BHBE from a private seller. When I asked the owner about the capacity of the 2 propane tanks, he wasn't sure.

We looked on the tanks, but not seeing anything. When I look on rvguide.com it says capacity is 14.2gal/60lbs. Since I have 2 tanks, does that mean I have a total of 28.4gal/120lbs?

I think that is the case. I removed the tanks from the trailer and when I weighed them on my house scale, they were about 55lbs each. Just seems like a lot of propane, but just wanting to know for sure.
Sorry, I am a noob, and this is my first camper.
DMobley232 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 04:45 PM   #2

Your first camper's propane tanks are virtually full! If you run your furnace and/or water heater (on propane) it won't take long and the amount you have won't be nearly so much.

The stove and refrigerator don't go through propane as rapidly as the other two.

BTW, we all started out as noobs of some degree.
Full timing: Some will think you're crazy, some will be envious, just enjoy the freedom!
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 04:57 PM   #3

Your propane tanks have the empty weight and the full weight imprinted on the collar or handle area around the valve.

You can test how full by weighing each and then deducting the empty weight from that total.

Mine reads 21.6 /47.6LBS So if I weigh it I deduct 21.6 lbs from the total and whatever is left is my tank amount. This is for a Jayco supplied 20 pounder. My grill tank says TW17 meaning empty equals 17lbs.

30 pounders also have numbers like this system.
200 Watts solar panels from Renogy

Prev. '14 Jeep Grand Cherokee Overland, gas 3.6 V6
RogerR is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-17-2018, 05:17 PM   #4