Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 03-06-2014, 09:35 AM   #1

How strong is Aluminum skin TT ??

I am a newbie and read lots of stuff on the web. I am looking for feed back from TT owners that have traveled lots of miles with there Aluminum sided TT.
Does the Aluminum TTs get ding easy up over time from road travel?
Thanks, Mike
Mikeos is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 09:46 AM   #2

Mike,

Welcome to the world of camping and may you have many years of enjoyment.

You are going to get comments from Aluminum TT owners as well as those with the smooth Gel Coat trailers so you will need to decide what is best for you, but first when you say strong that word can mean many different things. The biggest difference in most Aluminum trailers is they are the standard stick frame construction which will be heavier than the newer lightweight composite trailers. Some prefer the stick construction over the composite while others prefer the design and look of the smooth sided trailers over the aluminum. I have had 2 aluminum sided trailers and have been happy with both. The majority of my travle is on main highways so while i have some rocks they are not like going off road camping. The biggest risk to either type of trailer is water so if you keep them watertight both will last many years.

For the dings going down the road yes this is a possibility, but both my trailers have had a rock guard on the front. If a ding does occur in other places I could touch it up with some paint where those with the fiberglass front caps are harder to repair.

Hope this helps your decision and in the end you will have to decide what is best for your situation.
weekender is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-06-2014, 10:18 AM   #3

Thanks and yes I understand about the two different skins and how they are built.