Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-30-2015, 06:30 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
tawoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Tupper Lake
Posts: 218
I don't get it....

If I'm connected to a 120 volt power source by the 120 volt adapter everything works in the camper. Why then have the 240 plug?
I could understand if half my circuits did not work using 120 but everything works including the air conditioner which I would have assumed would be 240v.
BTW I'm questioning all this because I just fried my converter by plugging it in for the first time to a 240 outlet.
__________________

tawoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 06:44 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2013
Location: north az
Posts: 305
Most rv that I have been near are 30 or 50 amp, 120 volts. Usually 30 amp for ac and 50 amp for two. What type unit and where is the 240?
__________________

arkhillbilly is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 06:51 PM   #3
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,056
You have to know how rv AC systems are wired. Sorry you fried the converter. You are not the first or the last but it is not rocket science, just something that must be understood.

The 50a is provided to your rv by 2- 50a 120v supplies, When they get to your breaker panel, one feeds one side of the buss, the other feeds the second side. Effectively this gives you 100a of total power to serve your rv needs. Usually if 2 ac's are in the unit, one will be on each side of the buss so that neither are overloaded.

Generally there is nothing in most rv's that use 240v.
__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 07:01 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by tawoo View Post
If I'm connected to a 120 volt power source by the 120 volt adapter everything works in the camper. Why then have the 240 plug?
I could understand if half my circuits did not work using 120 but everything works including the air conditioner which I would have assumed would be 240v.
BTW I'm questioning all this because I just fried my converter by plugging it in for the first time to a 240 outlet.
Was this a 30 amp plug wired for 240? Your 30 amp plug is nothing but a standard outlet wired with larger wire to provide 30 amps of 120 volt electric. As others have said, a 50 amp plug is also not a 240 volt plug but 2 50 amp 120 volt lines.

Your not the first to have a plug wired incorrectly and having major issues because of it. It is why the plug configuration on a 30 amp plug is not the same as say, your dryer with is 240 volts at 30 amps.

A picture or two could help us understand your situation and allow us to explain it better.

Sorry
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 07:06 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
tawoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Tupper Lake
Posts: 218
Norty1 Ok so what you are saying is I have two separate 120 volt lines but nothing is 240 volt. That makes sense.
Now why I fried it...
Is it because I connected the plug under load and should have first shut all breakers off?
Do I need to purchase a serge detector? I should have this figured out before I install the new power supply I just bought off Amazon ($134.00).
Thanks in advance.
tawoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 07:14 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by tawoo View Post
Norty1 Ok so what you are saying is I have two separate 120 volt lines but nothing is 240 volt. That makes sense.
Now why I fried it...
Is it because I connected the plug under load and should have first shut all breakers off?
Do I need to purchase a serge detector? I should have this figured out before I install the new power supply I just bought off Amazon ($134.00).
Thanks in advance.
I assume your rig has a 50 amp plug ? What receptacle did you plug it into ? A campground or a plug you wired yourself at home? In actuality it is a 240 line, but your rig uses it as two 120 volt lines rather than utilizing both of the 120 lines inside your rig.

I guess I'm still confused what you plugged it into and how you blew your converter?

Picture? A link to what you purchased off Amazon?
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 07:20 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
After rereading your original post, it may be that you have a 30 amp system. The three prongs of a 30 amp is, bottom left (on receptacle ) is your hot wire, the bottom right is your neutral wire, and the round top is a ground plug. It is only 30 amps at 120 volts, no 2nd hot wire to make it 240 volts. To anyone not familiar with RV's and RV plugs it is a common mistake. It is also why the plug configuration is unique to RV's and not the same as say, a dryer.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 07:34 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
tawoo's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2014
Location: Tupper Lake
Posts: 218
Wags999 That's it, that's what I did wrong. I made a whip to connect my camper's plug to a 50 amp 240 receptacle I have in my garage. The receptacle is to power a 240 volt welder I had.

Wow, did I ever blow it (literally)
tawoo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 07:58 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by tawoo View Post
Wags999 That's it, that's what I did wrong. I made a whip to connect my camper's plug to a 50 amp 240 receptacle I have in my garage. The receptacle is to power a 240 volt welder I had.

Wow, did I ever blow it (literally)
Im really sorry, but, your not the first to make that mistake.

It looks like it would be a 240 volt plug, when it is actually only a heavy duty 120 plug. A 30 amp RV has 3600 watts of power available, 30 amps at 120 volts. A 50 amp RV has 12,000 watts of power available, provided by 2 120 volt 50 amp lines.

I have even seen electricians wire an RV plug wrong.

I had a camper come into our campground the other day and needed only a standard 120 20 amp plug. He was insistent that our 30 amp plug was providing 240 volts. It took me a while to explain the difference, and once he connected with my assurance it was not going to blow up his small pop up, he became a believer

I'm not sure what a Mfg could do to make it more clear, I know the receptacles do have wiring information on the package and the plug does say for RV use only.

On another issue, do you need a surge protector? If you are camping in camp grounds you do not know them yes I would suggest a surge protector at least and a complete EMS (electrical management system) at best. It sounds complicated but what it does is protect you not only from a surge, but also from a voltage spike or a voltage drop. Typically they cut power off when it rises to 132 volts, or drops to 104 volts. Higher or lower than those limits MAY do damage to your rigs appliances...ie AC MW etc.

Progressive industries, and there are a number of threads on these protectors, seem to be the favorite of this forum, it is also what I use on my Rig.

Good luck and, next time ask first
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-30-2015, 08:02 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
To answer another question you asked.. yes you should have the breaker powering your receptacle off when you plug into it. Then turn the breaker on, this will prevent arching if the plug does not make contact equally on all three prongs of a 30 amp plug, or 4 prongs of a 50 amp plug.


Today I replaced several 30 amp plugs which had the round neutral portion broken, while they had not caused any issues, they could have..
__________________

__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:31 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.