Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-19-2022, 07:34 PM   #1

Inverter Major Problem and Complaint

One major problem and one complaint.
Inverter: Progressive Dynamics PD1600 with internal automatic transfer switch, purchased from ETrailer.
I'm an experienced electronics technician, so I can easily do AC and DC wiring.
2022 212QBW prewired for inverter from the factory.

Problem:
I installed the inverter and it ran fine and the outlets on the inverter circuit functioned normally; the trailer was not connected to shore power. When I connected the trailer to shore power, the breaker for my garage outlets popped. I reset that and the trailer functions normally on the garage 120V outlet. However, the inverter is now giving an E5 error code of an internal fault that shows no fix for it in the user manual other than to call customer support. No error codes for over or under voltage or over or under current. No fault codes E1, E2, E3, E4 and E6. Just fault code E5 which appears to be equivalent to death.

Has anyone every experienced this? The inverter should have switched over instantly, but I guess it did not. The only breaker in the trailer that was on was the one for the outlets and the main breaker. All other breakers were off. I'm beating my head on the wall laughing from being baffled with no answers. What the h*ll happened?