Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 09-01-2010, 11:49 AM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central NY
Posts: 203
Kipor IG3000 Generator / Coleman AC Problem

We recently purchased a Jayco 322FKS and are extremely happy with the unit. We previously owned a 2001 Dutchman with a 13,500BTU AC unit. In the Dutchman, the Kipor would run both the Microwave and the AC unit. However in the 322FKS the AC Unit will not start. I have tried shutting everything off (Lights, Ref,) before turning the air on. I have also tried turning the fan on for 20 to 30 seconds before the AC unit. However, the compressor just makes a buzzing sound and then within 5 to 10 seconds the Kipor trips. The AC in the 322fks works fine on shore power and also works fine when I use my old 5500 watt contractor gen. Any sugestions?
__________________

hausknwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-01-2010, 12:15 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
JPBeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 527
Install a hard-start
http://www.modmyrv.com/2009/05/27/rv...tart-capacitor
part--
http://www.amazon.com/gp/product/B00...SIN=B000LDPI26

If your generator is running correctly that's about all you can do. Right? My "lil" Honda EU2000 will run my 13.5 AC all the way up to 3000 feet above sea-level.
Maybe check it yourself or drag it to the dealer and have them check to see how much juice it's pulling-- maybe it's out of specs. It's one of two things-- your AC (possibly your capacitor pulling too much) or your generator.
__________________

__________________

Regards,
JP
2007 20BH Jayco JayFlight
2009 F150 5.4L SCrew Cab XLT
JPBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-02-2010, 11:41 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central NY
Posts: 203
Thumbs up Thanks

I E-Mailed the service and support web site for Coleman AC last night and they were very helpful. They make a "Compressor Start Assist Kit" for this unit. They gave me the part number, I called my dealer and it is on its way.
Thanks for your help.
hausknwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 06:09 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central NY
Posts: 203
Talking

I picked up the Easy Start Kit at my dealer today. It actually came in Tuesday but we have been camping. It took me about 10 minutes to get the cover off of the AC unit, install the kit test kit, and close it up. Simple installation, hook red to red and yellow to yellow and close it up. It works great. I cycled it several times and it started immediately each time. Total cost was about $30.00 including freight and tax. I am one happy camper.
hausknwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 06:26 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
JPBeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 527
Sweet I'm glad it worked out for you! I installed in mine and my lil 2000i starts it up just fine now.
__________________

Regards,
JP
2007 20BH Jayco JayFlight
2009 F150 5.4L SCrew Cab XLT
JPBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 06:52 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2009
Location: Austin, Texas
Posts: 235
Hey guys, this is really good information to have. I have been assuming I would need two Honda eu2000i generators hooked together to run the A/C and the cost of two has kept me from buying.
__________________
Sam
Emeritus Member of Jayco Owners' Forum
Texas Sam is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-13-2010, 07:21 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
JPBeck's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2010
Location: Southern California
Posts: 527
All I know is that mine works up to 3000 feet above sea level. It's a 2007 Coleman 15000 BTU-- with nothing else running. I bought 2 EU's for times when I'm above 3000ft or know that we'll be running the AC all day. Most of the time I leave the other one at home.
__________________

Regards,
JP
2007 20BH Jayco JayFlight
2009 F150 5.4L SCrew Cab XLT
JPBeck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 09:10 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 518
Here is a dumb question. My Kipor 2000 will do everything except my AC, but if I have my coffee brewer going the DB's are really loud. If I did manage to get my AC going would my Kipor run very loud or does it back off after the initial start?
Albertaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 11:54 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Location: Central NY
Posts: 203
Can't tell what would happen with the Kipor 2000. However, My Kipor IG3000 does settle down to a lower RPM after it starts the AC to something about 1/2 way between an idle and full bore. I only start the AC with the econo mode off, then turn it back on after everything is up and running.
hausknwa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 09-14-2010, 03:34 PM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Calgary
Posts: 518
Quote:
Originally Posted by hausknwa View Post
Can't tell what would happen with the Kipor 2000. However, My Kipor IG3000 does settle down to a lower RPM after it starts the AC to something about 1/2 way between an idle and full bore. I only start the AC with the econo mode off, then turn it back on after everything is up and running.
Thank-you.
__________________

Albertaguy is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:36 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.