Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 04-15-2024, 07:25 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Location: Brighton
Posts: 8
Lady Camper Electrical Issue: AC

Hello Everyone - I have a 2016 Jay Flight 28bhbe. When installing my new battery, I put the battery cables on the incorrect posts. Yes, I replaced all three of the 25 fuses in the Reverse Battery Protection Fuse spots in the fuse panel as well as the 30 fuse in the outside of the a frame front (all were bad). All other fuses have been checked and are fine. I am getting power in the wiring going from the battery into the camper (outside front) but am not registering any power coming into the fuse panel. Anything that works on DC does not work. When I plug in my camper to electric I get my microwave and outlets to work (not AC). I have a closed underbelly (I can unscrew and look) if there is something between the wires going into the front of the camper to the fuse box that I should look for. Is it worth removing the underbody protector? Is there another fuse under carriage?
Thanks for your expertise in advance.
eauen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 08:57 AM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2023
Location: Jefferson city
Posts: 409
Only thing you haven’t mentioned is the resettable breaker that’s usually mounted on the front of the trailer.
The positive battery cable goes to it first normally.
There should be a small button on one end to push in.
__________________
Mark B

2021 GMC half ton T/V
2022 Jayfeather 25RB
Anderson WDH
Markb5900 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 12:09 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Location: Brighton
Posts: 8
Thanks @Markb5900 or any other expert - I have these on the front of my camper in the A frame: when I put my voltmeter on both of them (block on the top and red on the below) it give me a 12.9 reading. I don't have a reset button on the sides of these nor anywhere on the frame. I would love your next trouble shooting suggestion.
Attached Thumbnails
IMG_2169.jpg  
eauen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 12:49 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
stinger608's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2022
Location: Cheyenne
Posts: 293
Does your trailer have a metal junction box that a bunch of the wires go in to?

If it does, open that up. There may be another fuse or circuit breaker in there.

I know our 19 27RL has the junction box and a circuit breaker inside it.

You will probably have 2 screws holding the plate on the junction box.
__________________
2019 JayFeather 27RL
stinger608 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 01:39 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
skids's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Florissant
Posts: 647
Quote:
Originally Posted by eauen View Post
Thanks @Markb5900 or any other expert - I have these on the front of my camper in the A frame: when I put my voltmeter on both of them (block on the top and red on the below) it give me a 12.9 reading. I don't have a reset button on the sides of these nor anywhere on the frame. I would love your next trouble shooting suggestion.
Well, the battery is charged I think. Most of these trailers have a battery cut-off switch to help discharge when the trailer is not used. They really don't work very well though. That auto resetting breaker you were talking about should not show voltage if the breaker is closed (I don't believe). If it is open then it could show voltage because the meter completes a path.
__________________
Skids
Was 2015 SLX 195RB
Now Bullet 248RKS
2014 Ford F150 3.5L Ecoboost
skids is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 01:51 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
craigav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by eauen View Post
Thanks @Markb5900 or any other expert - I have these on the front of my camper in the A frame: when I put my voltmeter on both of them (block on the top and red on the below) it give me a 12.9 reading. I don't have a reset button on the sides of these nor anywhere on the frame. I would love your next trouble shooting suggestion.
Just for clarity, did you intend "block" or "black"? You should be sure the black lead of the meter is on the frame itself (perhaps the screw or base of the breakers in the image, or even the - negative of the battery if it is close enough), and then place the red lead on each terminal (the 4 connections) and all of them should show the same voltage. You may be saying that is what you did but just to be sure. ~CA
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 02:09 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Location: Brighton
Posts: 8
Yes, @Stinger608 I have one of those boxes; however, don't show a button nor a fuse.

@skids: Yes, battery is charged (I have triple checked). I have searched high and low on the A frame and front of the trailer for a battery cut off switch - nothing.

@craigav - yes, meant black not block.
Attached Thumbnails
front dc wire box.jpg  
eauen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 03:28 PM   #8
Senior Member
 
MikeNChelle's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2012
Location: Chicagoland
Posts: 766
Check the Breaker panel. There is a 15 amp breaker in my camper for the converter. If that is tripped it will not have DC power
__________________

2016 Pinnacle 36REQS
2022 Ford F-450 6.7 4x4 CC LB Dually
Mike & Chelle, My kids when they decide to go with us.
MikeNChelle is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2024, 06:06 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
craigav's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2017
Location: North Texas
Posts: 3,705
Quote:
Originally Posted by eauen View Post
Thanks @Markb5900 or any other expert - I have these on the front of my camper in the A frame: when I put my voltmeter on both of them (block on the top and red on the below) it give me a 12.9 reading. I don't have a reset button on the sides of these nor anywhere on the frame. I would love your next trouble shooting suggestion.
You should read again my post #6, if you didn't test as I described and instead you connected the Black lead on the top connection and the red on the one below and your meter indicated voltage. that would indicate no power is passing the breaker (meaning a bad breaker there). You need to have the black lead on your voltage meter grounded (not on any of the terminals), and the red lead should read voltage on each of the 4 terminals.

If you could provide more details where the voltage meter leads were exactly when you measured the voltage, that may help. ~CA
__________________
2010 GreyHawk 31SS
craigav is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2024, 11:11 AM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2024
Location: Brighton
Posts: 8
Hello @Markb5900, @stinger608, @skids, @craigav, @MikeNChelle: I did find my issue and although embarrassed; I want to THANK YOU for your time and efforts to help me. I did not have my cables correctly hooked up to my battery (ughh). I assumed they were accurate as my electric hitch and light on the Aframe was working. Regardless, my appreciation remains...I will pay it forward. Happy Camping.
eauen is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:13 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.