Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-01-2020, 06:07 AM   #1

Li Ion Battery Modifications?

Folks
I’ve bought a pair of Battle Born Li-Ion 100AH (model BB10012 LiFePO4 ) batteries for my TT, a 2019 White hawk R27B.

Has anyone else installed these batteries in a similar TT and if so did you need to make any electrical modifications ie for charging etc.? My tow vehicle is an F150 with towing package and I am expecting charging of the batteries while towing as well as when I’m plugged into campsite power.

Note: Battle Born website says they can be just dropped in place of an RV lead acid but hearing of fellow RV’ers experiences would be appreciated.

Thank you for your time.

PS eventually moving toward solar and decided to start with batteries.
BeGin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-01-2020, 07:00 AM   #2

I'm not an expert, but do the Lithium batteries need special charger? I know the Progressive Dynamics converter/charger replacement for the original WFCO converter/charger in my J flight 23RB came with a little switch I was supposed to flip if I replaced my current lead acid battery for the LI-Ion batteries.

Don't know if that was marketing hype or not.

Quote:
Originally Posted by BeGin View Post
Folks
I’ve bought a pair of Battle Born Li-Ion 100AH (model BB10012 LiFePO4 ) batteries for my TT, a 2019 White hawk R27B.

Has anyone else installed these batteries in a similar TT and if so did you need to make any electrical modifications ie for charging etc.? My tow vehicle is an F150 with towing package and I am expecting charging of the batteries while towing as well as when I’m plugged into campsite power.

Note: Battle Born website says they can be just dropped in place of an RV lead acid but hearing of fellow RV’ers experiences would be appreciated.

Thank you for your time.