Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-15-2019, 03:30 PM   #1

LP tanks: how much LP remaining ?

This a complete newbie type question: I have a 2016 Jayco White Hawk (RBOK)

How do you know if you are low in LP gas.?
I have attached a picture of what my setup looks like.

Thanks in advance for any answers.

Best Regards
Eric
Attached Thumbnails
IMG-0787.jpg  
2016whitehawk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 03:56 PM   #2

I use a Truma gauge that you press against the tank in various places. Green is propane, red is none. It uses a type of ultra sound. So far, very accurate and quick.
Old 04-15-2019, 04:01 PM   #3

I use the good old fashioned method of pouring a little boiling water over the side of the tank. Pour it, and immediately run your finger down the side of the of the tank. Warm where there's no propane, and cool where there is.
Siamese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 04:15 PM   #4

We use very little propane so I dont worry about it. Since you have dual tanks always use the same tank until its empty and switch to the other tank, refill the empty tank at a Tractor Supply when you can, dont do those exchanges at the box stores they charge way to much
Sundancer330 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-15-2019, 04:35 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Sundancer330 View Post
We use very little propane so I dont worry about it. Since you have dual tanks always use the same tank until its empty and switch to the other tank, refill the empty tank at a Tractor Supply when you can, dont do those exchanges at the box stores they charge way to much
x2- only turn on one tank at a time. When it runs out switch over and refill the empty one. That way you always have a full tank when needed.
Old 04-15-2019, 05:26 PM   #6

Quote:
Originally Posted by Cannon View Post