Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 08-02-2020, 07:11 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 3
Master kill switch?

I am brand new to camping and just bought a Jayflight 267BHS. Does anyone know if there is a master kill switch for the battery? The lights and radio are working and I donít want to run the battery down.
Abner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 07:18 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2014
Location: MD
Posts: 3,822
As far as I know thereís no master kill switch. On both of my Jaycos Iíve always disconnected the positive cable off the battery. It literally takes a few minutes to do so...
__________________
2017 JayFlight 28BHBE
2014 JayFlight Swift 264BH (Sold)
2007 GMC 2500 Sierra Classic Crew Cab LBZ Duramax / 6spd Allison
SouthCo is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 07:19 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2018
Location: Albany
Posts: 112
I canít speak to your exact camper, but generally camper donít come with a battery shut off.
Some folks install one of these:

Kohree Battery Disconnect Switch, 12V-48V Battery Isolator Power Cut Off Master Switch Waterproof for RV, ATV, Car, Marine, Boat, AUTO, with 4 Mounting Bolts, 275 Amps, (On/Off) https://www.amazon.com/dp/B07XTDSD4B..._1w2jFbPEF1SFN

Or something like it.
BroRobin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 07:29 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2020
Location: Tallahassee
Posts: 3
Thank you for sharing!
Abner is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 07:51 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2019
Location: SW Missouri
Posts: 160
I know the brochure says it has one but we have a 2020 Jay Feather and there is not one so I installed one. Factory one will usually leave some parasitic draws on there mostly detectors and such still working.
Jolvi is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-02-2020, 07:57 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2018
Location: Colorado Springs
Posts: 1,253
I added a second switch between the battery and the factory switch. This way when I need to isolate the battery I can, and when I need to cut all power to the camper I can.

Here is the schematic behind my factory switch panel. YMMV....
Click image for larger version

Name:	Battery power cutoff schematic.jpg
Views:	20
Size:	106.2 KB
ID:	62041

So, my second added switch is between the 50 amp circuit breaker and the factory (depicted) switch.

EDIT: Sorry, just seeing this is TT. Mine is an Eagle HT fifth wheel.
madmaxmutt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-09-2020, 04:59 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 135
Couldn't you just pull the fuse?
Zenar is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-10-2020, 06:20 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Matt14's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2019
Location: Corunna
Posts: 20
I put a battery disconnect on the ground side between battery and ground
Matt14 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Tags
battery, switch

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 06:17 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2022, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.