Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-03-2019, 05:56 AM   #1

New to RV'ing - Jay Feather help

Hi all! I'm in my 50's and jumping into the RV world late in life - My wife and I are in the process of purchasing a used 2016 Jay Feather 22BHM from a private owner. The camper appears to be in good shape, but I'm a novice and not sure what to look for to ensure the unit is sound. I have looked through out all the cubbies and cabinets for any sign of water intrusion and have found none. The bottom of the camper has a plastic barrier - not sure what is under there or if I should remove to inspect. Also am not sure how to judge the state of sealant on roof / seam areas. Any issues with delamination of the fiberglass on these units? Any suggestions for a critical inspection list / procedure would be much appreciated. Should I hire someone to inspect the unit prior to purchase?
TAllen is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2019, 06:45 AM   #2
Site Team

First of all, welcome to the forum. As an owner of a 2017 22BHM, I can tell you that they are absolutely solid units. Mine has seen hundreds of nights of use and has traveled up and down the east coast multiple times with just a few minor problems.

You really do need to get up on the roof and look around at the roof membrane itself and all of the sealant. Once you are up there, it will be really obvious if there are problems. Look for holes or tears in the membrane, cracks in the sealant, etc. Don't panic if you find some minor issues. As long as there is no water damage, a little self leveling lap sealant or enternabond tape and you will be ready to go.

Pull out the outside kitchen and look underneath to make sure that the strut arm mount hasn't pulled up from the floor. It is an easy fix if it has. Just drill some new holes and put some drywall anchors in and it will hold well.