Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 08-28-2017, 08:15 AM   #1

New trailer advice...

Hi guys and gals, new to the site and rv life in general. I just bought my first trailer a 264BHW. I work as a welder/millwright and have built many race cars and hotrods over the years so I find myself very handy mechanically. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on things to double check before taking the camper out for the first time. Things like plumbing connections, wire terminations, etc. I have already checked the wheel bearings and installed bearing buddies. I'm looking for normal things that jayco misses from the factory that I might be able to get out ahead of. Thanks in advance for any feedback.
Chevy79bu is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2017, 09:34 AM   #2

Quote:
Originally Posted by Chevy79bu View Post
Hi guys and gals, new to the site and rv life in general. I just bought my first trailer a 264BHW. I work as a welder/millwright and have built many race cars and hotrods over the years so I find myself very handy mechanically. I was wondering if anyone could give me some advice on things to double check before taking the camper out for the first time. Things like plumbing connections, wire terminations, etc. I have already checked the wheel bearings and installed bearing buddies. I'm looking for normal things that jayco misses from the factory that I might be able to get out ahead of. Thanks in advance for any feedback.
1. All plumbing under pressure check for leaks (including running the shower and checking for leaks to the floor outside)

2. Hinges of every cabinet and drawer

3. Give a little tug on all trim work and fixtures for lose screws.

JHerzog is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2017, 09:50 AM   #3