Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-26-2020, 08:46 PM   #1

Newbie here now has a generator question

With our very first trailer, a small Jayco 18-foot Jay Flight, Lucy and I plan to do a lot of dry camping so we think we may need a generator (for A/C at least). I found one, a Champion 2000-watt inverter with USB I can get for $400 from Camping World. But checking past posts on this website, I've seen recommendations for generators such as a Firman 3650/3300 inverter for pennies short of a grand. Do we need that much horsepower? Or would the little 2000-watt'r take care of our needs? Honestly, I feel stupid about asking this, but we are absolute newbies to this RV lifestyle. Thanks for your advice.
mhknorr is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2020, 08:53 PM   #2

In my experience a 2000 watt generator will not run A/C. It will charge batteries and you can plug in a phone charger, watch TV (if you have one), etc. You will NEED the 3500 watt "horsepower" to run A/C. I recommend getting the bigger one if you can swing it. I had a 2000 watt Honda, which worked like butter, but just not what I really wanted as it will not run A/C. I sold it and bought the Champion 3500 inverter.
Kinger33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-26-2020, 09:52 PM   #3

Generating

Quote:
Originally Posted by mhknorr View Post