Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-11-2020, 06:13 PM   #1

Newbie needs help

I am new to the RV life and I am hooked up to city water and my fresh water tank keeps filling up !!! I’ve been on YouTube all day and still no luck .. can someone help .
2018 jaydlight
Apryleigh is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2020, 06:26 PM   #2

There should be some valves that you change depending on what you want. To fill the tank you select "city fill". To run straight off city water you select "city fixture". To run off tank you select "normal".

These are what my valves are labeled, yours may be called something different. Mine are in the area you hook the hose to.

Jim

Retired electronic technician (45 years in the field)
2017 Greyhawk 29W (solar & many other mods)
wife (maybe I should have given her top billing)
JimD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2020, 06:30 PM   #3

Not sure what trailer you have, but your water pump should have a built-in check valve to prevent city-connect water from flowing back through the pump into the tank. It may be failing. There are some videos out there on how to install a check valve on the hose leading into the pump to prevent that.
😁 "If a man says he’ll fix something, he will. There’s no need to remind him every 6 months.
LuckyDuck is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-11-2020, 06:31 PM   #4

On some of these without the handles I believe there is a valve that can stick. Running the water pump can free it up.
Old 10-12-2020, 08:22 AM   #5

I have a 2018 Jayco jayflight. I have tried switching on n off the water pump and that has not worked. Let me find some of these videos on changing the check valve . Thank you all for the Input ...
Old 10-12-2020, 08:34 AM   #6

my camper 2013 198RD has two places to put a hose.