Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-30-2020, 03:01 PM   #1

No ladder= shoddy roof?

Hi all,

Im new to the RV world, i am a traveling physical therapist that just recently got serious about buying a travel travel trailer. I was looking at a few 18-25ft double axel Jaycos at an RV show this weekend, and a salesman says to me that one of the models had a ladder on the back, and that if it didnt have a ladder, that meant the roof was shoddy and cant be stood on?? Ive been researching and learning 4yrs now prior to committing, and this is the first ive heard that. I want to be able to be on the roof to water seal and check AC and so on, and cant inagine they dont make them without knowing people will be doing that. Is this just a sales gimmick or is he speaking the truth about the ladder and roof?
Ptabaldwin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-30-2020, 03:17 PM   #2
Site Team

Is Jayco the brand you're considering?

Our TT didn't have a ladder on it, when we first looked at it at the dealer. It can be a couple of things. Either it's an option, and the dealer can install it for you, like ours did, or there's no internal structure built into the rear wall to support one.

As far as the roof not being "walkable", Jayco's are. Other brands may be different. There are safe ways to be able to do it, from taking a section of plywood up with you, to spread out the load, to being careful to step on only where the rafters are located. You can see where they are one on the roof. A previous TT we owned only had thicker plywood at the rear 6 feet of the roof. I was up there many times.
We had our dealer add one on as part of the deal. I want access for cleaning and maintenance. For those with no ladder support structure, an extension ladder works.

2012 Jay Flight 19RD
2016 Ford F150 XLT 2X4 SC 3.5L Eco Max Tow
2010 Tundra TRD DBL Cab (Traded)