Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 10-22-2017, 05:02 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Queens NY
Posts: 20
Norcold fridge without lp

Was wounding if there was a way to have it electric only. I have a season site and would like to hook up a WiFi plug to the fridge. I want to do this so i can turn on the fridge from home, this way when I get there the fridge would be cold. If i leave it on without electric it keeps click trying to start with propane. Anyway to stop this from happen. Thanks for any advice.
__________________

Hama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 07:52 PM   #2
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2017
Location: Tucson
Posts: 69
Keep it on shore power all the time and the fridge will default to electric. Without electric it automatically goes to propane.
__________________

Scott_Trailer_Newbe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 08:15 PM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Queens NY
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Scott_Trailer_Newbe View Post
Keep it on shore power all the time and the fridge will default to electric. Without electric it automatically goes to propane.
Right, I don't want it to go to propane
Hama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 09:10 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,001
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hama View Post
Right, I don't want it to go to propane
No way to do what you want to do.
Grumpy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 10:09 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2016
Location: Jonesboro
Posts: 100
There are some newer rv fridges that are not Dometic that run on 12v electric only. I've seen them in some other rv brands.
Mbranscum is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 10:21 PM   #6
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Queens NY
Posts: 20
Quote:
Originally Posted by Grumpy View Post
No way to do what you want to do.
Thx, was hoping it could be done, would love to be able to control though wifi. Oh well
Hama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 11:14 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,483
If your in a permanate site..and you have power..why not just leave it on? Noting to hurt anything and no need to remove food in between your stays..It uses almost no power...
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-22-2017, 11:23 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2016
Location: Queens NY
Posts: 20
I leave it on for the summer cause I'm there a lot but for the winter I'm not there that much, so no need leave it on. Also it's about a dollar a day so if I'm not there for a month it's a waste of $30 to me. I have internet and was just thinking it would be nice just to control the fridge though WiFi. Anyway not a big deal was just wondering if it could be done some how.
Hama is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 08:11 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
ALJO's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2014
Location: Sparwood, BC
Posts: 1,329
Send a message via Skype™ to ALJO
You could contact Norcold with a request on how too? With a sort of bypass switch you should be able to fool the electronic circuit board. Where there is a will, there's a way........
__________________
2014 Ram 1500 CrewCab 4x4 5.7 Hemi 3.92 Rear and Air Lift 1000
2005 Jayco Jay Feather LGT - 29Y GVWR-7000 lbs.
Pro Series 1200 lbs. WDH with Double Sway Bar.
Champion 3100/2800 watt Inverter/Generator-Onboard Solar Power

ALJO 'Forever Young @ Heart' provide on their travels Music Entertainment to Senior Care Homes
ALJO is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-23-2017, 08:29 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
hoppers4's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Port Orchard
Posts: 1,152
If the fridge is auto mode and there's no propane present, it will only attempt to light the burner for thirty seconds before it goes into failure mode and stops its attempts to light. The manual doesn't state whether or not it will start in AC mode if shore power is then applied.

I would suggest attempting to start the fridge with propane off and shore power turned off. Let the fridge go into failure mode due to no propane, apply shore power and see if it auto switches to electric.
__________________

__________________
Don
hoppers4 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:42 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.