Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Search this Thread Display Modes
 
Old 05-12-2014, 11:45 AM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 6
Outside Outlets

On my new Jayco Bungalow 40FER - I have 2 sets of outside outlets... Does anyone know if --- one set is always "Powered" and the other set is controlled by an inside switch ??? Because I have no power to the second set of outlets....
LouisC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 12:35 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 9,876
I cannot directly help you. But they are always tied to a GFI outlet inside. Do you have a 50 amp service or a 30 amp service? If you have a 30 amp service check in the bathroom for your GFI. If you have a 50 amp service I cannot give you any advise where a second GFI outlet would be located. I really doubt there is a switch inside as that costs $.
__________________

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 01:12 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Posts: 1,588
Just a head's up, your inoperative outdoor outlet may not even be hooked up. I bought my trailer brand new and found out on our first outing that only one set of outlets worked, and the other set was completely dead. It was fixed under warranty, and the service tech said it wasn't even hooked up in behind, and that it "may" have come loose during delivery or may not have ever been wired up properly. Either way, I gave the dealership sh!t for not catching it on the PDI.

I personally have not seen a trailer that has outdoor outlets controlled by a switch... I'm willing to bet there is a problem with it, or as Jagiven said, a tripped GFI.
SkyBound is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 02:33 PM   #4
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 6
Outside Outlets

Thanks for the suggestion I will check them out and reply again...
LouisC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-12-2014, 11:33 PM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,446
I would bet on a tripped GFI.
__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package. (no, we don't tow the Jayco with it.)
2018 Surveyor 265RLDS well equipped.
Life in the slow lane is still life.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 05:07 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 2,044
I would bet it is the gfi outlet that is tripped. I Had the same problem. Also, if you are on a 50 amp double pole outlet, make sure both sides are fully on. I had that problem one time where after I hooked up and threw on the breaker, one side did not fully engage. Good luck
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 02:20 PM   #7
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 6
Outside Outlet

I checked it out...It is not the breaker in the bathroom, It is not the washer/dryer electric hook-ups...it is not on the main panel anywhere...I believe this has become a warranty issue and my nearest dealership will have to come out and repair it...Thanks for all the helpful advice...
LouisC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 07:36 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Berlin
Posts: 6
Smile outside outlets - answered

I just been playing with a lot of switches, trying to figure what goes to what...and low and behold....I take a switch tester and with every light in the trailer "on" and switches in the "on" position...my wife started shuting things "off" and when she put the flat swich just above the kitchen counter into the "off" position the light in my tester went out....MYSTERY SOLVED...The second set of outlets is controlled by a switch....
LouisC is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-16-2014, 08:27 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Arizona City
Posts: 10,224
Yep a big rocker switch under the kitchen cabinets.
__________________
2018 Jayco Jayfeather 27 RL, 2002 Ford excursion, v-10, 3:73 gears 4x4 mine. 2020 Buick Encore Hers, Retired Air Force, now Retired.
Parcany is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-17-2014, 05:40 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Threebutchers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,818
Quote:
Originally Posted by LouisC View Post
I just been playing with a lot of switches, trying to figure what goes to what...and low and behold....I take a switch tester and with every light in the trailer "on" and switches in the "on" position...my wife started shuting things "off" and when she put the flat swich just above the kitchen counter into the "off" position the light in my tester went out....MYSTERY SOLVED...The second set of outlets is controlled by a switch....
..
Attached Images
 
Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools Search this Thread
Search this Thread:

Advanced Search
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Featured Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3
Disclaimer:

This website is not affiliated with or endorsed by Jayco, Inc. or any of its affiliates. This is an independent, unofficial site.


All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:42 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2024, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.