Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-07-2015, 06:49 PM   #31
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2011
Location: Central California
Posts: 2,243
Quote:
Originally Posted by MADCARS View Post
Talked to my dealer....

They want to see the trailer to decide if its a warranty issue, understandable.

They quoted me almost $500 just for a new shoreline cord and receptacle.

Trailer is about 2hrs away from the dealer in a permanent seasonal site.

I might just get the mobile RV repair guy to fix it and not take to the dealer.

Any thoughts??
Call Jayco and see if they will authorize a mobile repair guy, they have been known to do it before. Even if to just diagnose the issue and determine if warranty coverage is possible.

I'm no electrician, but I have to agree with some of the other posts, this sounds like a low voltage situation and the trailer pulled higher amps to account for the low voltage. If this was in fact the case, a EMS unit should have caught the issue and killed power before it was an issue. My EMS has detected this exact situation two time previously and shut off power to my trailer.
__________________

__________________
2007 Chevy Duramax LMM/Allison
2012 Jay Flight 29QBH
2012 Jay Flight 26BH (Sold)
clubhouse is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 05:44 AM   #32
Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: Greater Cleveland Area
Posts: 86
I have a 50 to 30 AMP adapter. I wonder if I should use the 50 AMP service when available?
__________________

__________________
2004 Jayco Jayfeather 23D
2014 Ford F150 EcoBoost
Equal-i-zer
smoothy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 06:29 AM   #33
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 1,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by smoothy View Post
I have a 50 to 30 AMP adapter. I wonder if I should use the 50 AMP service when available?
If you have a 50 amp cord then I would use 50 amp service when available


But if your cord is rated for 30 amps than I would NEVER connect to a 50 amp service That is an invitation to disaster
__________________
2004 Jay Feather 25E
2001 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.55 rear
2004 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.73 rear
bedrck46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 08:57 AM   #34
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sierra Vista
Posts: 79
Hooking your 30A to a 50A with the adapter is fine. The adapter only uses one leg of the 50A service, so you are back to 120V, and although the service is limited to 50A at the power pole breaker, your cord will only see the current demanded by your rig, and your rig is limited by a 30A main breaker, so the cord won't see over 30A. I do this often, as many 30A female plugs, at campgrounds, are worn out and loose, where the less used 50A plugs are still in good shape.
Tim L is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 09:35 AM   #35
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2015
Location: Elizabethtown, PA
Posts: 1,542
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim L View Post
Hooking your 30A to a 50A with the adapter is fine. The adapter only uses one leg of the 50A service, so you are back to 120V, and although the service is limited to 50A at the power pole breaker, your cord will only see the current demanded by your rig, and your rig is limited by a 30A main breaker, so the cord won't see over 30A. I do this often, as many 30A female plugs, at campgrounds, are worn out and loose, where the less used 50A plugs are still in good shape.
Tim L
Suggest that you go back and read post 22 and on this happened to a 30 Amp Cord plugged into a 30 Amp circuit No breaker blew

Now imagine what would or could have happened if he plugged his 30 Amp cord into a 50 Amp circuit
__________________
2004 Jay Feather 25E
2001 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.55 rear
2004 Ford Expedition 4X4 EB 5.4 3.73 rear
bedrck46 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 10:27 AM   #36
Senior Member
 
mike837go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Campbell Hall
Posts: 2,837
Quote:
Originally Posted by Tim L View Post
Hooking your 30A to a 50A with the adapter is fine. The adapter only uses one leg of the 50A service, so you are back to 120V, and although the service is limited to 50A at the power pole breaker, your cord will only see the current demanded by your rig, and your rig is limited by a 30A main breaker, so the cord won't see over 30A. I do this often, as many 30A female plugs, at campgrounds, are worn out and loose, where the less used 50A plugs are still in good shape.
And to add to Bedrock's admonition:

50A will be available to the 30A cord! If there is a short inside the RV, the cord is NOT capable of carrying the 50A it will take to trip the breaker.

Simply put. DO. NOT. Connect 30A Equipment into 50A supplies. It'll work fine until something goes wrong. Then fire, not a tripped breaker.
__________________
TT 2015 19RD "TheJayco"
TV 2003 F-350 "Montblanc" - Housebroken chore truck


Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 10:32 AM   #37
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Jackson
Posts: 1,038
Good to know. And I have a dogbone adapter to allow me to plug into a 50 amp assuming a 30 was not available.
Jopopsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 10:36 AM   #38
Senior Member
 
mike837go's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2015
Location: Campbell Hall
Posts: 2,837
If the dogbone includes a 30A breaker, use it. If not, it is a disaster waiting to happen.
__________________
TT 2015 19RD "TheJayco"
TV 2003 F-350 "Montblanc" - Housebroken chore truck


Sitting in The Cheap Seats.
And proud of it!
mike837go is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 10:39 AM   #39
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2015
Location: Jackson
Posts: 1,038
I'm pretty sure it has no breaker. I'll be tossing it. THANKS !
Jopopsy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-08-2015, 04:51 PM   #40
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Sierra Vista
Posts: 79
Actually BEDRCK46, Nothing different would have happened. The amount of current drawn was obviously less than 30 Amps, as the Neither the pedatal 30A nor the trailer 30A tripped. Having a 50 amp breaker at the pole would not have FED the rig more power. The load is based on what the trailer draws, and not pushed by the size of the feed available. Whatever got hot and smoked, did so on LESS than a 30A draw. If it would have exceeded 30A, one of the breakers would have tripped. Now, the only plausible reasoning not to use the adapter, is what if something downstream from the 50A pedestal breaker, but before the rigs 30A breaker shorted? (Cord is the only thing between) Simple answer is that although the power cable is not designed for 50A, if you short the cable, you will likely draw considerably more than 50A, and trip the pedestal breaker. However, you could argue that a short could happen, and a defective breaker would not trip. Yes, possible, but that is possible on EVERY circuit in any trailer or home. I have a 400 amp service at my home, doesn't mean I use it all. The LOAD determines the current flow, and not the available capacity.
__________________

Tim L is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 05:14 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.