Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-13-2019, 07:25 PM   #1

PROGRESSIVE INDUSTRIES EMS-PT50X Portable

So broke down and bought the PROGRESSIVE INDUSTRIES EMS-PT50X Portable RV Surge Protector (50 A) for our upcoming trip this summer. To my shock and amazement i was not expecting this thing to be as big as it was. HOLY COW!!!!!! this thing is huge. Hopefully it works. I didn't want the hard wired one just in case it quit working.
jcrammell is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 04:26 AM   #2

I have been using the PT50 Series for the past 9 years full time. Started off with the PT50C and PI upgraded me to the PT50X with warranty exchanges. I actually have 2 of them. One for full time use and a spare when the primary one has to go in for service. This has happened to me 3-4 times over the past 9 years and no damage to my rig when each event happened.

I will never ever plug in anywhere without my PT50X in line and this includes my home base site where I have had incoming power issues a couple of times that was the power company's problem.

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50X, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 04:39 AM   #3

I'm sure you will feel better knowing that your trailer is protected. The hard wired units can be set to bypass mode in the event that there is a problem, until Progressive gets you up and running.
John H is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-14-2019, 04:41 AM   #4

Haven't been using mine quite as long as edatlanta, but like him won't plug in without it. I also have two, though one is a 30A that we bought with our first TT. Still use it at home and if we're at a CG that only has 30A service.