Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 01-21-2020, 09:41 AM   #1

Propane tanks

I am new to trailering and just bought a 2019 Jayco 332 RLOK. I have two propane tanks and want to know by the switch on the tanks, how do I know which tank it’s using and does the gauge on front mean how much propane is left in the tank ? Thank you for your time
PaulB is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 09:51 AM   #2

Without a picture, I can't be sure, but you most likely have an auto-changeover pressure regulator.

There will be an arrow or pointer on the knob. That arrow points to the tank you are using. The "gauge" isn't really a gauge. It just tells you if the tank has propane or not. It will stay green until that tank runs out and, then, turn red. At that point, the auto-changeover regulator will start using propane from the other tank.

When I go camping, I open the valves on both tanks. I use one tank until the indicator shows red. I don't move the knob or switch until I have refilled the empty tank. So, basically, my switch is always pointing at the partially used tank with the full tank as back-up.

In warm months, I can go months on a single tank of propane. In the winter, the furnace can gobble up a tank in about 2 days if it's below freezing.

Hope that helps.
2016 GMC 2500HD CrewCab SLT 4x4 Duramax
smithmdsmith is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 10:05 AM   #3
CAG

Open both bottles (they should be that way anyway if you are using them). Close the bottle that has the switch over it. If the indicator stays green, it is on the other bottle. If it turns red, it is using the bottle you just turned off.

When camping, keep both bottles open. It should switch automatically from the empty bottle when the time comes.

CAG is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-21-2020, 10:18 AM   #4
Lost in the Woods

Quote:
Originally Posted by CAG View Post