Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-16-2014, 07:11 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 521
Question about television

This may be a silly question but here goes. My TT has a 12v outlet and satellite antenna. I have never used it. Recently I added a cable line for park cable but normally we just used the TV to watch DVDs with the kids. I have been wondering about the 12v outlet and sat antenna. Do I need to use a 12v tv in order to use the antenna or can I use the reg power outlet for my standard tv and just connect the cable line to the antenna for sat reception. Am I missing something like maybe the need for a digital recvr or something? I'm really ignorant when it comes to tvs, radios, etc.
__________________

micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 07:41 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
Imnaha.Mansion's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Boise
Posts: 201
In the bedroom my TT has a 12VDC outlet that I use for a fan. No you don't have to use a 12VDC TV you can use a regular TV with shore power or a generator. Of course you will need to find the correct outlet.
__________________

Imnaha.Mansion is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-16-2014, 07:46 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
So to level set, are you discussing this:



The plate on the right is the 12V and Power Antenna (Not Satellite, but the roof mounted Batwing). So one question at a time.

You do NOT need a 12V Television for any TV reception (Antenna, Cable or Satellite).

Not to be insulting, but could you be confusing the roof mounted TV antenna for a Satellite system? If you have just the roof mounted TV antenna (crank on the inside to crank up, then can rotate to get the best signal) then you need only a digital television which is basically any newer TV set.

I suspect you're talking about a TV antenna, not satellite.
__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 08:24 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,397
Just be aware there is not alot of DC CURRENT available from the Antenna Panel shown above. If you overload it you will kill your 12VDC going to the pre-amplifier inside the roof mounted OTA antenna setup. Not sure where the fuse is for this 12VDC source.

I read alot of folks will use this 12VDC receptacle to power up their cell phone charger or computer battery when camping off the power grid. I personally would be hesitant to plug-in something that draws alot of DC current into this receptacle.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 08:56 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
There is no need to mess with the A/B cables inside your unit unless you are using a satellite input. If you are just hooking up cable, it goes straight through to your tv. The a/b cables are to put a satellite receiver in for satellite signals. Regular tv and cable will work fine. You just have to reprogram your tv each time you move to accept the signals in your area. Hope I did not confuse you. Make sure your button is pushed for your tv signals and the little light comes on to improve tv reception.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 09:56 AM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 521
Okay. I think I got it and no I am not insulted nylyon. My knowledge is admittedly lacking when it comes to electronics. I was referring to the rooftop TV antenna as the satellite antenna. I know I don't have satellite. I believe the problem I have is that my TV is an older (10yrs or more) flat screen. I'll probably need a digital signal box or a newer TV. Thanks for the replies!
micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:08 AM   #7
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,397
MICRON _ I wouldn't waste money on a Digital TV Conversion Box. You can pick up a very nice 19-inch VIZIO HDTV for around $150 and less... This will give you the full benefit of the Digital TV signals.

Also now that NATIONAL BROADCAST SYSTEM has changed over to digital TV you can pick-up FULL HIGH TV SIGNALS from the local towns using your OTA BATWING antenna. These are all FREE to the public... Digital TV is MUCH MUCH better than the old analog TV modes...

something to think about...

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 10:52 AM   #8
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: SE Wisconsin
Posts: 2,060
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyBraddy View Post
Just be aware there is not alot of DC CURRENT available from the Antenna Panel shown above. If you overload it you will kill your 12VDC going to the pre-amplifier inside the roof mounted OTA antenna setup. Not sure where the fuse is for this 12VDC source.

I read alot of folks will use this 12VDC receptacle to power up their cell phone charger or computer battery when camping off the power grid. I personally would be hesitant to plug-in something that draws alot of DC current into this receptacle.

Roy Ken
I think this is more dependent on your convertor than the receptacle itself. The receptacle itself is typically going to be rated for 15 or 20 amps. I can't find specs, but the booster can't be drawing more than a couple of amps. A 12 volt TV isn't going to draw much more than 4 amps. An incandescent bulb for an RV can pull as much as 2 amps. A phone charger only draws about 2 amps. So plugging in a 12 volt TV into this receptacle is not going to cause an overload, unless every 12 volt appliance and light is turned on. And as you use more 12 volt devices, its why your convertor fan runs louder and faster. That in itself was part of my motivation to swap out all the bulbs for LEDs. Much easier on the convertor.

When dry camping we used run a 12 volt tube TV that drew far more amperage than an LCD screen and never had an issue with overload.
__________________
Chuck
2013 Jayco Jayfeather X20 E, 2008 GMC Sierra 1500 Crew Cab Z71 SLE
DocBrown is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 01:45 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2012
Location: South Jersey
Posts: 521
Roy- I agree with you. I am looking at smaller HDTVs. I might even get an under counter TV/DVD combo. Counter space is very limited in my trailer.
micron is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-17-2014, 04:14 PM   #10
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,059
Quote:
Originally Posted by micron View Post
Roy- I agree with you. I am looking at smaller HDTVs. I might even get an under counter TV/DVD combo. Counter space is very limited in my trailer.
Agree, I have a few laying around. I think they are hard to find anymore after the gov. gave one to every person in the US.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is online now   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:43 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.