Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-20-2013, 01:54 PM   #1

Question on Black Water tank

I am a newbie to the rv scene and had a question about the black tank. Checked on the black tank by shinning a light down the toilet and notice a small amount of water in the tank. The black gauge still just shows one red light compared to four and there is no real smell in the rv. I was wondering if this is ok?
Davebird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2013, 07:01 PM   #2

I wouldn't lose any sleep over it.
Old 07-21-2013, 12:04 AM   #3

I had a similar question. After three days usage with only two adults and minimal usage my tank ready was full which I thought was weird because I've went a whole week without having to dump. And we're talking only number ones in my toilet... On day three this time the water level was about six inches from the top.
Old 07-21-2013, 05:16 AM   #4

We are having a similar issue. There are just two of us and the sensor display seems to stay 2/3 to full even after a dump. I have tried it running with ice cubes and adding the recommended packets that digest and clear the waste but still find it happening. Is there a way to really know?
pattersonhome is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 06:14 AM   #5

We give up on the gauge as I think most people do. I found out that if I see a gap between the bottom of the pipe and the water level i'm good. We go for 5 day trips and when we leave I think its almost full but yet I can put at least 10 gallons in with a pail. It takes a lot of liquid to raise the height level since the tank is wide but shallow.
equalizer 1000# hitch
bigbird is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-21-2013, 06:38 AM   #6

When I dump it takes me an hour to do. We have a clear fitting on the stinky slinky so we know whats coming out.