Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 07-05-2015, 04:35 PM   #11
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Poughkeepsie
Posts: 4
Thank you for the info. I could not find a switch on my camper, but it does say it is prewired. The location makes sense. Good to have the info.
__________________

ny-jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 04:37 PM   #12
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2015
Location: Poughkeepsie
Posts: 4
Thank you for info. I could not find a power switch on my camper (26bh). Location of prewiring makes sense.
__________________

ny-jayco is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-05-2015, 08:51 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Portland
Posts: 385
The power switch doesn't exist. It has to be installed when the camera is put in and Jayco told me the warranty would be void for that location of the trailer if I installed it myself.
__________________
2016 23MBH Elite
2014 F150 SCREW LB Ecoboost
blderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 09:26 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 119
I know this is old, but just incase. My switch is in the front pass through against the front wall. It is NOT on the outside like the picture shows.
__________________
------------------------------------------
2015 Jayco Eagle Premier 318RETS
2008 Ford F-250 Lariat CC Super Duty 6.4 Turbo Diesel
Cumming, Georgia
Go Dawgs!
Amosmoses33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 09:34 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Ottawasteve's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Ottawa
Posts: 292
Thanks for the information, how can we find out if our trailer is prewired. I have a 2015 and if it is prewired, I will be ordering a backup camera by the end of the week. Would be great to hear impressions on models and whether any of the new wireless models are approaching the quality of wired cameras.
__________________
2015 Eagle 284BHBE

2010 Ford F150 XLT 5.4 Maxtow, Coverking Seat Covers, Putco LED interiors, Kenwood DNX571TR GPS, Kicker Powerstage, Weathertech Floor Mats and Window Vents, Line-X, Firestone Airbags, Michelin LTX-MS2, LivewireTS 5 Star tuned, Propride 3P
Ottawasteve is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 10:01 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 119
I'd look in the pass through and see if you have anything. Mine had a sheet with the diagram that blderman posted in my manual packet. Maybe thats an indicator. You can call jayco with your VIN and they can tell you for sure. 800-283-8267
__________________
------------------------------------------
2015 Jayco Eagle Premier 318RETS
2008 Ford F-250 Lariat CC Super Duty 6.4 Turbo Diesel
Cumming, Georgia
Go Dawgs!
Amosmoses33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 11:05 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Portland
Posts: 385
2015s were not pre-wired.
__________________
2016 23MBH Elite
2014 F150 SCREW LB Ecoboost
blderman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 11:11 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2015
Location: Cumming, Georgia
Posts: 119
Mine is but its an eagle, not a jayflight.
__________________
------------------------------------------
2015 Jayco Eagle Premier 318RETS
2008 Ford F-250 Lariat CC Super Duty 6.4 Turbo Diesel
Cumming, Georgia
Go Dawgs!
Amosmoses33 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-28-2015, 06:17 PM   #19
Senior Member
 
ninjahbob's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2014
Location: Eatonton
Posts: 305
I have not seen a unit with a power switch. As blderman illustrated there isn’t much to the prewire. Simply put the camera is tied into the running lights of the trailer. When you connect your tow vehicle and turn your lights on the trailer running lights come and so does your camera. It transmits to the receiver unit that is in your tow vehicle. You can mount the camera anywhere you can get to power from your running lights. I have observed a camera mounted next to the license plate bracket using the license light wire as the source of power.

ninjahbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-03-2015, 03:29 PM   #20
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2015
Location: Freehold
Posts: 6
Just bought a 2016 324BHTS with the "prewired backup camera" option. Switch is in the front storage compartment with a sticker that says "prewired", but nothing obvious in the rear of the trailer.
After much investigation, just figured I would buy this: Rampage Wireless Backup Camera for Smartphone or Tablet - iOS or Android for 120 bucks and call it a day!

Its cheap and most people like it
__________________

Perry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:27 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.