Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-19-2019, 02:57 PM   #1

Roof wiring for solar, jayflight 245rlsw

I want to bring my wires down the wall over the passthrough so it's as close to the charge controller as possible.
My question is, is there a passage between the roof and the wall or are they sealed from eachother?
If I drill through the roof 3" away from the side can I pass the wire down the wall.
m2bandit is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-19-2019, 03:08 PM   #2

New plan, drill up through the bedroom cabinet, run it into the wall through there. Put a little trim over it and forget it.
Good? seems like it to me.
Old 12-19-2019, 03:27 PM   #3

Keep it simple!
mokurt is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-19-2020, 03:49 PM   #4

m2bandit, how did that work for you? I am in the design stage for the solar install on my Jay Flight 248rbsw.

I'm new to RVs, (but good with electricity) and I am trying to learn from others about the best way to run wires in the trailer. Are you installing an inverter? If so, where/how to you run the wires from the inverter to the elect panel?
Old 02-19-2020, 08:39 PM   #5

Quote:
Originally Posted by Snow Dog View Post
m2bandit, how did that work for you? I am in the design stage for the solar install on my Jay Flight 248rbsw.

I'm new to RVs, (but good with electricity) and I am trying to learn from others about the best way to run wires in the trailer. Are you installing an inverter? If so, where/how to you run the wires from the inverter to the elect panel?
I drilled up from the storage ran it up through the cabinets and through the roof. Covered it with some wire cover stuff.
I ran 10 awg 3 wire soow wire from the inverter down under the floor and with the rest of the wiring all the way until the wiring goes up. Then I put a auto transfer switch in and ran it to the panel.