Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 05-13-2014, 08:11 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Beaverton
Posts: 49
Run AC on 110V shore power?

I have the X17A Hybrid with AC unit on top. I just read the manual and it says the converter will create the 110V power needed to run the AC unit.

So, I know I cannot run the AC unit when running on just the 12V battery.

Can I run the AC while connected to house power from my garage (normal 110V plug), which has the adapter to plug into the 30A plug on the trailer.

I did test the connection with my surge protector and the green lights all light up where they are supposed to.

I am also wondering if I will run into a amperage issue on the circuit and maybe need to upgrade that circuit to a 30A breaker in the garage (if it is not already on one).

Thanks.

Jeff
__________________

jsundin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 08:28 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
mcfarmall's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Location: Kalamazoo, West Michigan
Posts: 1,814
Yes, I do it all the time. You might run into issues if there are other loads on the circuit that you plug into. Not much different than running a window shaker from a wall outlet.
__________________

__________________
2006 23B Hybrid with 10k round bar WDH
2011 F150 4x4 SCREW Ecoboost, Max Tow, Integrated TBC, 3.73 LS axle, Firestone Ride Rite airbags.
mcfarmall is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 09:50 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
Quote:
Originally Posted by jsundin View Post
I have the X17A Hybrid with AC unit on top. I just read the manual and it says the converter will create the 110V power needed to run the AC unit.

So, I know I cannot run the AC unit when running on just the 12V battery.

Can I run the AC while connected to house power from my garage (normal 110V plug), which has the adapter to plug into the 30A plug on the trailer.

I did test the connection with my surge protector and the green lights all light up where they are supposed to.

I am also wondering if I will run into a amperage issue on the circuit and maybe need to upgrade that circuit to a 30A breaker in the garage (if it is not already on one).

Thanks.

Jeff

You will need shore power to run your rooftop air conditioner. ( or large generator)

The converter, converts 110v alternating current to DC power for charging your batteries and running 12 v DC devices ( lights, radio, etc..)

Most roof top air conditioner units draw close to 15 amps @ 110 volts at the moment of start up, then less amperage to sustain running.

If your garage or outdoor circuit is 15 amps it may or may not hold depending if other stuff is running ( like the fridge in the garage full of cold beer)

Start the fan first, then call for the compressor to minimize the peak spike on the circuit.

Also,look into hard start capacitors for the roof top unit that reduces the current draw at startup by providing a pre charged boost on the feed.

Also know that you can't just upgrade the breaker for the garage circuit to 30 amps without upgrading the gauge of wire to all outlets on that branch.

Some folks had added a single outlet from the breaker box just for the RV, rated at 30 amps.
__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-13-2014, 11:17 PM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Missouri City, The Republic of Texas
Posts: 3,006
I was able to run the AC in the X23B when plugged into a 20A circuit but would trip the breaker if I used a 15A circuit. Fridge and some lights would also be on.
__________________
Cheers,
T_

2013 F-350 CC SB 2WD 6.7PS
2013 Eagle Premier 351 RLTS
-SOLD- 2012 X23B
-SOLD- 2003 Ford Expedition 5.4, Bilstein shocks
RedHorse1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-14-2014, 12:30 AM   #5
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: North Idaho/Arizona
Posts: 5,303
I changed our outside circuit to 20 amp. I haven't had to reset it since I changed it from 15 to 20 amp.
__________________
2011 Eagle 330RLTS with just about every option.
2017 Silverado 1500 4x4 5.3 with tow package.

I was born with nothing and I still have most of it left.
clutch is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 09:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.