Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-11-2011, 03:04 PM   #21
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
I'm not sure what an "unsanitary" cable is. Your system should work fine with a dedicated cable for the dish. To clarify a previous post, the 12V DC that the dish uses is supplied from the receiver via the coax, not through a separate 12V battery connection. The TV signal shares the coax with the 12V. It's common in equipment that deal with radio frequencies. I looked at the link that shows how to reconnect cables to the batwing amp and allow it to work, but it was just as easy to run a new cable.
__________________

__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-25-2011, 08:29 AM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
We have the 2010 Jayco G2-31RKS and hook up direct tv satellite to it all the time from the outside inlet and have no problems whatsoever. It works all the time, not half the time. We were going to get one of the new units that you set on the ground and it automatically acquires the satellite signal until we found out that it does not receive the high definition digital channels on direct tv. So, we are still setting up the oblong dish with the 3 lnbs on a surveyor's tripod to get high definition. The big dish definitely needs the large tripod for support.
__________________

__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 08:35 AM   #23
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Plymouth, MA
Posts: 44
Satellite will work with either RG59 or RG6. The RG6 just has more insulation to sheild interference from out side source. If you have the dual LNB just hook up one of the cable to the dish out put and attach it to the side out your camper where the cable input is. If there is something behind the plate that is attemping to split the signal just get a male/male couple and hook the RG59 or RG6 behind the plate to the prewired trailer cable. It is true you cannot split a satellite signal you would need a multiswitch to accomidate that.
bgarv29BHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 08:51 AM   #24
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgarv29BHS View Post
Satellite will work with either RG59 or RG6. The RG6 just has more insulation to sheild interference from out side source. If you have the dual LNB just hook up one of the cable to the dish out put and attach it to the side out your camper where the cable input is. If there is something behind the plate that is attemping to split the signal just get a male/male couple and hook the RG59 or RG6 behind the plate to the prewired trailer cable. It is true you cannot split a satellite signal you would need a multiswitch to accomidate that.
RG6 is the cable of choice for satelitte, but not because of sheilding. The center conductor on RG6 is larger and gives less db signal loss. Every satellite person tech, installer, etc. that I have talked to said do not use RG59.
__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 10:17 AM   #25
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by clutch View Post
I was told by the salesman that our 2011 is ready for satellite. I will find out for sure on Tuesday. If it isn't it will be.
I looked in a 2011 Jayco a few days ago. Looks like they have redesigned the TV connectors. I did not study real close, but they now have a jumper that you remove when you want to use Sat TV. I assume that by disconnecting it, you bypass the amp.

I am uploading a file I took of the main TV area of a 2011 26BH. It was also this way in the bedroom.
Attached Thumbnails
photo.jpg  
__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 10:22 AM   #26
Senior Member
 
Terry's Avatar
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Germantown, TN
Posts: 4,923
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Landry View Post
RG6 is the cable of choice for satelitte, but not because of sheilding. The center conductor on RG6 is larger and gives less db signal loss. Every satellite person tech, installer, etc. that I have talked to said do not use RG59.
If you are running RG6 to the camper and you have a couple of feet of RG59 inside you might get it to work IF you are just trying to just watch standard def and IF you have a really good signal and IF you have VERY well done F-Connectors. If you are trying to watch HD or use a KA/KU dish, RG59 is not going to cut it.
__________________
Terry
2009 Jayco 26BH
2004 Chevy Silverado 1500
2009 JayFlight Manual Library

Want to add a signature to your posts? --> Click Here
Terry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 10:27 AM   #27
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
And to think we go camping to see the great outdoors and get away from everything! I can't help but laugh at all we go through just to see tv while we are out camping. I must be at the top of the list because I have direct tv and would not think of going camping without my satellite system. In my older 2001 model, I drilled through the outside skin all the way through the inside paneling and put up a second separate jack just for satellite next to my tv/cable jack. On my new 2010 model, it has separate outside jacks for cable and satellite. How considerate of them. lol I can only watch satellite on the main tv in the living area as the bedroom tv then only gets signal from the Batwing. I have just about got the wife turned on to football so she is coming around! lol
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 01:22 PM   #28
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Plymouth, MA
Posts: 44
I understand that rg59 is not optimal for reducing signal loss etc. I do have a 50ft run of rg59 at my beach house for my 18" round direct tv to my 32" old tv and it works as excpected. Would I use prewired rg59 before drilling holes in my tv? Yes I would. I would at least test it out what do you have to lose. You dont mention if you are looking to setup a hi-def dish or if you have a hi-def tv. It like the sales guys who justifies that you need the $150 monster cables to make your tv looks its best. I doubt any of us can tell the difference between the $40 cable at walmart of the monster cable.
bgarv29BHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 01:22 PM   #29
Member
 
Join Date: Feb 2011
Location: Plymouth, MA
Posts: 44
That was supposed to read "before drilling holes in my TT". Oops!
bgarv29BHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-14-2011, 10:05 PM   #30
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wedowee AL
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by bgarv29BHS View Post
Satellite will work with either RG59 or RG6.
HD will not work w/batwing, Direct or Dish with RG59. Commencing somewhere around 2003 range, most RV manufacturers quit using RG59 on better units. My 04 Designer has all RG6. Wal-Mart doesn't even sell RG59 anymore.
__________________

__________________
F250 HD 7.3 Diesel :)
31 Ft RLS Designer 5th Wheel :D
kcconawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:07 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.