Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-22-2011, 07:07 PM   #41
Senior Member
 
cekkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 2,421
I don't have good answers or I'd be watching television in our TT. But a Dish technician came out Father's Day for another matter and when i mentioned problems getting cable and air, but that I hadn't tried our Dish system yet, he suggested most trailers didn't handle satellite signals properly and handed me a flat cable about a foot long with a female connector on each end to use through my slide. He said if I'd run coax around the baseboard to the TVs I'd be a happy camper. It's not as sanitary as I'd like, but if the stock setup doesn't work smoothly this weekend, I'm not going to go nuts again as I did with our last trailer and with this one using cable. I'm going with the expert's opinion.
__________________

__________________
'11 Eagle 320RLDS
'02 F350 PSD Dually 4WD
DW's Ride, '13 Expedition
cekkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 08:52 PM   #42
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
Satellite will work if you hook to the TT side input on the outside. Just make sure you hook the box to (A) on the jumper jack and from the box to the tv. Just did the same thing in our 2011 330RLTS works ok.
__________________

__________________
2011 Jayco 330 RLTS

1999 F-350 Powerstroke 7.3 crew 4x4 w/ 4.10 gears
rose88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:59 PM   #43
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Wedowee AL
Posts: 262
Quote:
Originally Posted by cekkk+ View Post
But a Dish technician came out Father's Day for another matter and when i mentioned problems getting cable and air, but that I hadn't tried our Dish system yet, he suggested most trailers didn't handle satellite signals properly
Baloney - I've helped a bunch of friends across a number of manufacturers and in all cases it was "operator errors" not bad wiring from the manufacturers. There may be a few bad rigs out there but I have not run into them.

Have run into issues with older units (pre 2001) that had RG59 cable that never got their system working unless ran a cable through a window etc.
__________________
F250 HD 7.3 Diesel :)
31 Ft RLS Designer 5th Wheel :D
kcconawa is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 08:40 AM   #44
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Chisago City
Posts: 4
DirecTV satellite does not work

I have a new 2013 Jayco Whitehawk and I am trying to use my portable direcTV dish. I plug the dish coax into the outside cable TV connection but I cannot determine where the signal is available inside the camper. I see a compartment opposite the radio the has coax connectors, including two that are connected with a small coax jumper, but nothing is labelled! Did Jayco simply forget to let users know how to connect a satellite TV?

Does anyone know how to use the connections in this mystery compartment?
RLCWHITEHAWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 08:42 AM   #45
Senior Member
 
Grumpy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2011
Location: Where ever the boss says we're going.
Posts: 5,045
See Rose88's post above.
__________________
DISNEY LOVERS
PINNACLE 2015 38FLSA. aka: "Roam Sweet Home"
Grumpy is online now   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 10:23 AM   #46
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Aug 2014
Location: Chisago City
Posts: 4
Still didn't answer my question. Where are the connections inside the camper? No labels anywhere. Am I supposed to guess where the outside connection is located?
RLCWHITEHAWK is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 10:47 AM   #47
Lost in the Woods
 
Join Date: Jun 2014
Location: Woodstock
Posts: 1,128
remove the loop and hook your sat receiver to port A....unlikely they are marked as mine are not but try one if it doesn't work just try the other. Satellite dish is hooked up to outside cable inlet of course as well which is located on the road side
nbhybrid is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 10:57 AM   #48
Senior Member
 
tnchuck100's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2012
Location: Sparta, TN
Posts: 1,174
Remove the jumper.
Connect Satellite receiver dish input to port A (top connector).
Connect satellite receiver TV output to port B (bottom connector).
TV is connected to the plate that has the antenna amplifier. Amplifier must be OFF.
Bedroom TV will get the same signal that the main TV has.

There are several ways to configure this depending on whether you want to use HDMI or other complex configurations. This is the simplest and most direct.

To use your RV antenna simply turn on the amplifier (green light).
__________________
Chuck - Sparta, TN
2012 Jay Flight 22FB, 2 x Honda EU2000i
2013 GMC Yukon XL Denali AWD

EDUCATION is what you get when you read the fine print.....
EXPERIENCE is what you get when you don't.
tnchuck100 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 08-31-2014, 11:21 AM   #49
Senior Member
 
nylyon's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2011
Location: Southeast, NY
Posts: 960
I don't know the interior location of the devices in your RV, but check out this thread, I have some pictures of that box, the instructions and a rough drawing to try to help simplify it for you
__________________

__________________
Karl - Southeast, NY
2011 Jayco Super Lite 30.5 BHLT
2003 Ford F250 Lariat 6.0 PowerStroke Turbo Diesel My mods Bathroom Door Water Filter TV mount Cork Board
Streamline your A/C
nylyon is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:04 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.