Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 11-12-2010, 06:24 PM   #1
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Running Satellite Cable

I'm curious if anyone has run the RG-6 cable through their JayFlight to a satellite receiver and how did you get there? I have a 22FB but I assume most of the small Jaycos are constructed the same way. I just don't see how to snake the cable through the walls. I can mount the exterior jack close to the existing TV Cable connector, no problem there. The issue is that the TV and the cabinet closest to it are on the curb side above the dinette. I suppose I could run it under the chassiss, up through the wheel well and up along the corner by the dinette, but I would rather not have a visible cable hanging nor do I want to remove any of the interior skin to run the cable through the walls. I'm a pretty mechanically and electrically inclined dude and the rest of the installation will be a piece of cake.. I do a lot of marine installations for high dollar customers so I'm pretty anal about it looking like a factory installation. Just off the top of my head, I'm thinking across and under the trailer, securing the cable to the trailer frame using padded cable clamps, up through the wheel well on the curb side, into the dinette seat storage compartment, next to the shower wall, and then up the inside of that wall to the end of the cabinet by the wall mounted TV. I'm never gong to have more than one TV in the trailer and it is where it's going to live from now on. Actually, I guess I could go up through the floor into the settee storage area and avoid the wheel well There is an access cover to get to the back of the shower faucets, but I havn't pulled it off to see if there's a path for a cable up through that wall. Ideas, anyone?
__________________

Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:07 PM   #2
Member
 
1mtnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 45
Bob, I am trying to understand what you are attempting to do. Let me ask some questions as i have been trying to help my friend with his TV cabling problems also.
Do you have a Cable TV receptacle on the outside of your trailer? Do you have a power amp for your batwing antenna?
If both of these questions are in the affirmative then you could attach your RG-6 cable to the cable receptacle on the exterior of your trailer and get your satellite that way.
__________________

__________________
2005 Silverado 2500HD 6.0 410.1
2009 Jayco G2 23FB
1mtnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:26 PM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Yes, I do have the batwing and amp. I didn't know if that was compatible with satellite or if I needed to run additional cable. I need to go out to the truck and get the Winegard information, I suppose. Thanks for the info.
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:43 PM   #4
Member
 
1mtnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 45
Satellite TV

Bob, depending on what year your TV is you should be able to get local digital TV stations using the batwing. LCD's that were made in 2006 and later have a built in tuner so they will receive the digital signal without a converter box.
This web site will tell you what digital stations are available for your location.
http://www.fcc.gov/mb/engineering/maps/
__________________
2005 Silverado 2500HD 6.0 410.1
2009 Jayco G2 23FB
1mtnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 07:53 PM   #5
Member
 
1mtnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 45
The batwing will not receive satellite TV so unless you have satellite input access, a dish and satellite receiver you will not get satellite.
__________________
2005 Silverado 2500HD 6.0 410.1
2009 Jayco G2 23FB
1mtnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-12-2010, 09:22 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
I do have the external coax connector for cable. I also understand the batwing does not receive satellite. We go to places where there is no stations transmitting so I want to add satellite. I'm simply trying to find out if my trailer is pre-wired with RG6 and from there, where in the signal line does the sat receiver go since the trailer has the batwing and amplifier already installed.
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 10:29 AM   #7
Site Team
 
Denise's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2009
Location: Mostly the US
Posts: 10,004
Quote:
Originally Posted by Bob Landry View Post
I'm simply trying to find out if my trailer is pre-wired with RG6 and from there, where in the signal line does the sat receiver go since the trailer has the batwing and amplifier already installed.
Bob, We have the G2 that has the satellite connector outside. I can't help ya with the techie stuff, but can suggest if you don't find the answer here, try calling Jayco direct at 800 283-8267. Keep checking back with this thread as someone who eventually will read this may also have the opportunity to share their experience with the identical techie situation.

Also, any chance you could add your tt description to your 'signature' (shows up every time you post)? It could help others who might be able to help you if they could see right off what type/year/etc Jayco you have. Let us know if you need help with the signature.

Definitely post what ya wind up doing with the RG6 thing
__________________
moderator
Denise, DH, grandkids, and two rescue pups
-2016 Jay Flight 29QBS Elite
-2016 Ford F-250 XLT 4x2, 6.2L EFI V8, 4.30 Elec Lock, Heavy duty Alt
Denise is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:01 AM   #8
Member
 
1mtnman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Oct 2009
Location: Colorado
Posts: 45
Bob, if you only have a cable external source you can use that connector for satellite. What you may have to do inside at the coaxial plate is to go behind the plate and make certain that the cable source is connected to the the plate connector. There should be two adapters on your inside plate where the TV hooks up. One will be from the batwing and the other from the cable. The cable source goes to the satellite receiver and then another R-6G cab;e goes from the receiver to the TV. I have two cables going to my TV, one from the Batwing and one from the satellite. It requires that I change cable sources depending if I am watching satellite or digital TV. It does not matter if your coaxial cable that you presently have wired from you cable source is R-6G or regular TV cabling.
__________________
2005 Silverado 2500HD 6.0 410.1
2009 Jayco G2 23FB
1mtnman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:04 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Right now the question is, is the existing coax from the external jack RG6. The Jayco brochure says it is supposed to be prewired for satelitte, but that does require RG6 as opposed to RG59. I'm going out to work on the trailer today and I'll look. If I can't see enough to tell, I'll call Jayco CS and ask them. Then it looks like the only other requirement is to change the cable feed configuration so that the sat cable feed goes directly into the receiver and not the Wingard amp since sat signals won't work well going through any type of splitter. That would only require moving the coax feed from the amp to he receiver and then going from the receiver to the splitter input with a short jumper of RG59. Once it comes out of the receiver, it's my understanding you can pretty much do what you want with it. My installation will be pretty simple since I'm only using one television in the trailer.
__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 11-13-2010, 11:12 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by 1mtnman View Post
Bob, if you only have a cable external source you can use that connector for satellite. What you may have to do inside at the coaxial plate is to go behind the plate and make certain that the cable source is connected to the the plate connector. There should be two adapters on your inside plate where the TV hooks up. One will be from the batwing and the other from the cable. The cable source goes to the satellite receiver and then another R-6G cab;e goes from the receiver to the TV. I have two cables going to my TV, one from the Batwing and one from the satellite. It requires that I change cable sources depending if I am watching satellite or digital TV. It does not matter if your coaxial cable that you presently have wired from you cable source is R-6G or regular TV cabling.
Mine is set up the same way. The batwing feeds the amp as does the cable input and to switch between the two all I dois push the button on the face place. It would seem that to chance between the BW abd the cable that is all that would be needed, except the sat cable should go to the receiver and then to the amp. I don't see any other means of switching the inputs.
__________________

__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 11:25 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.