Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 06-21-2011, 06:16 PM   #1
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
Satellite Hookup with 2 TV's

Just bought a Jayco 330RLTS and love it already. Wish I knew how to hook up both the bedroom tv to satellite? I have an A & B switch with jumper wire.

My question is can I run 1 line in and get satellite on both tv's? I have 2 boxes ( DTV ). I can get the living room tv to work but cannot get a signal on the bedroom tv. Am I gonna have to have 2 wires ran in from the outside?

Thanks in advance!!

Richard
__________________

rose88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-21-2011, 07:55 PM   #2
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,523
The easiest way (that I know of) to have one dish and two receivers is using DirecTV's SWM (single wire module) system. You have one Slimline dish with a SWM LNB. One wire goes into the Jayco via the provided sat input. Inside the trailer you have to have a SWM power inserter, then a SWM splitter. One lead from the SWM splitter goes to your rear receiver/DVR. The other output from the splitter goes to the coax lead that goes to the front of the trailer. I called Jayco and they sent me a wiring diagram for the various coax runs so I would know which one went to the front TV.
Works like a champ.
__________________

__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 12:02 AM   #3
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks for the reply!! Where can I find these parts?
__________________
2011 Jayco 330 RLTS

1999 F-350 Powerstroke 7.3 crew 4x4 w/ 4.10 gears
rose88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 05:41 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,523
One source is http://www.weaknees.com/swm-directv.php. I'm sure there are others. One choice would be to find a DirecTV installer out on the road and see if he would sell you the correct parts.
Using the SWM system you can have both of your TV's working independent of each other with only one dish and one input into the trailer (no new holes to drill).
If your receivers are WholeHome compatible you can turn this option on with DirecTV as soon as you hook everything up. I can record up to 4 programs at the same time (two DVR's) and watch any program on either TV.
Works like a champ.
DirecTV does a pretty good job of keeping all of the details of this setup secret. They want to charge a install fee.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:05 AM   #5
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
Thanks again! I have 4 tv's at the house on 1 dish ( slimline ) Only have the 18" on the RV, but used to have it at the house with multiple receivers? I will check with a friend who installs them and see what he may have? See how good a friend he is? LOL

Happy Camping

Richard
__________________
2011 Jayco 330 RLTS

1999 F-350 Powerstroke 7.3 crew 4x4 w/ 4.10 gears
rose88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 07:12 PM   #6
Senior Member
 
cekkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 2,421
Let me ask if you run your Dish sat into the exterior port and get good reception on your TV? What configuration are you using with the A/B jumper? Booster off? I'll be trying our Dish system this weekend but had lots of trouble with cable hookup in several parks. Don't mean to hijack.
__________________
'11 Eagle 320RLDS
'02 F350 PSD Dually 4WD
DW's Ride, '13 Expedition
cekkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 07:57 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,523
I don't use the broadcast antenna at all. I just use sat tv and the corresponding sat jack in on the back of my Designer. Since I don't use the broadcast in I don't use the booster either.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 08:38 PM   #8
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by cekkk+ View Post
Let me ask if you run your Dish sat into the exterior port and get good reception on your TV? What configuration are you using with the A/B jumper? Booster off? I'll be trying our Dish system this weekend but had lots of trouble with cable hookup in several parks. Don't mean to hijack.
When running satellite unhook the jumper wire from A and use A for your sat connection, but will only work in living room. I just got off the phone with a tech from DTV and he said I would have to run 1 line per sat box or I could used 1 box and watch the same thing on both TV'S

I guess its time to drill into the new camper
__________________
2011 Jayco 330 RLTS

1999 F-350 Powerstroke 7.3 crew 4x4 w/ 4.10 gears
rose88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-22-2011, 09:10 PM   #9
Senior Member
 
edatlanta's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2009
Location: Maplesville, AL - Home Base
Posts: 2,523
You don't have to drill another sat in jack for DirecTV if you use their SWM system. You can get a wiring diagram from Jayco on where the already run coax runs.
I hate drilling holes and spent a lot of research on how to have 2 TV's and one coax input.
__________________
Ed
KM4STL

2006 GMC 2500HD CCSB 4x4 Duramax/Allison, Titan 52 gallon fuel tank, Prodigy Controller, B&W Companion Hitch
2010 Jayco Designer 35RLTS, Cummins/Onan RV QG 5500 EVAP, Progressive Industries EMS-PT50C, TST Systems 507 TPMS, RV Flex Armor Roof
edatlanta is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-23-2011, 02:39 PM   #10
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Jun 2011
Posts: 24
Quote:
Originally Posted by edatlanta View Post
You don't have to drill another sat in jack for DirecTV if you use their SWM system. You can get a wiring diagram from Jayco on where the already run coax runs.
I hate drilling holes and spent a lot of research on how to have 2 TV's and one coax input.
Ok I ask him about the SWM and he didn't know anything about it? I will try that first before drilling. Do I just buy 1 switch and thats it? I also emailed the company that the link is on here about it and he said it couldn't be done with a 18" dish and only 1 coax line to camper???

Now I am really lost here??:lightning:
__________________

__________________
2011 Jayco 330 RLTS

1999 F-350 Powerstroke 7.3 crew 4x4 w/ 4.10 gears
rose88 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:24 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.