Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 02-15-2011, 10:09 PM   #1
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 47
Separate 110 inlet

Has anyone ever installed a 110 "inlet" that would give you a receptical on the inside where you would be connected directly to your power pole?

A couple weeks ago, during some pretty cold nights, we had two electric heaters running and the main breaker would pop when my wife would turn the microwave on. I thought if I had a straight line to the power pole it would eliminate my problem.

Any ideas / thoughts?
__________________

Hutashe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-15-2011, 10:33 PM   #2
Junior Member
 
Join Date: Dec 2010
Location: ohio valley
Posts: 29
Mine will do that if plugged into wrong outlet.My bathroom and plug in kitchen area is on same trip breaker,i find the ones in front of camper or separate.Have you tried switching them around.Just guessing.Also i use those ceramic heaters they use less current than those that have glow tubes i call it.Good luck Thanks
__________________

logan262 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 12:53 AM   #3
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: Orange County, N.Y.
Posts: 631
I have seen several thread where someone will run a 110vac line in their TT directly from the power pole.
__________________
Joe, Joyce , 4 Kids and 3 Dogs.
2004 V-10 Excursion with Hellwig sway bar, Roadmaster Active Suspension, Bilstein shocks and steering stabilizer, Super Duty Tow Mirrors,
3.73 Gears, Reese dual cam, Prodigy brake controller.
2010 Jayco Jay Flight G-2 32 BHDS
usmc616 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 08:04 AM   #4
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hutashe View Post
Has anyone ever installed a 110 "inlet" that would give you a receptical on the inside where you would be connected directly to your power pole?

A couple weeks ago, during some pretty cold nights, we had two electric heaters running and the main breaker would pop when my wife would turn the microwave on. I thought if I had a straight line to the power pole it would eliminate my problem.

Any ideas / thoughts?
We just turn off the heaters temporarily when using the microwave.

Tom
altar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 10:22 PM   #5
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by logan262 View Post
Mine will do that if plugged into wrong outlet.My bathroom and plug in kitchen area is on same trip breaker,i find the ones in front of camper or separate.Have you tried switching them around.Just guessing.Also i use those ceramic heaters they use less current than those that have glow tubes i call it.Good luck Thanks
It's the main that pops in the trailer.... Both heaters are ceramics. We're just pulling too much total juice. I forgot to mention the hot water heater also....
Hutashe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 10:24 PM   #6
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by usmc616 View Post
I have seen several thread where someone will run a 110vac line in their TT directly from the power pole.
I think I'll try it. It wouldn't take too much to do.
Hutashe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-16-2011, 11:47 PM   #7
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Why not put the hot water heater on gas, then try it?


Tom
altar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-17-2011, 11:24 PM   #8
Member
 
Join Date: Jul 2010
Posts: 47
Quote:
Originally Posted by altar1 View Post
Why not put the hot water heater on gas, then try it?


Tom
Saving the propane....

We have one large and one small clay front heaters. Even with close to freezing temps outside at night, we stayed nice and warm on the park's bill!
Hutashe is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 12:22 AM   #9
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Posts: 154
Quote:
Originally Posted by Hutashe View Post
Saving the propane....

We have one large and one small clay front heaters. Even with close to freezing temps outside at night, we stayed nice and warm on the park's bill!
I meant only when running the microwave.....

Tom
altar1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-18-2011, 10:35 AM   #10
Senior Member
 
SmokerBill's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2010
Location: PNW
Posts: 2,699
Living in these TTs is like living in an episode of "Green Acres". You need a chart next to the fuse box telling you "if you use (enter appliance here), you have to shut off (insert appropriate appliance[s] here).

I've read of some tapping into the air conditioner circuit, and adding an outlet or two from that. That would be ok as long as those outlets weren't used when the AC was running. Best would be to have a selector switch set up, so the power would go to either the outlets or the AC, but never both.

That might be my next mod.
__________________

__________________
Bill
2011 Dodge Ram 1500 HEMI Quad Cab
2011 Jay Flight 26BH
SmokerBill is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 01:08 PM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.