Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 12-07-2020, 10:49 AM   #1

Sleeping with furnace on

I have a Jayco Swift RB185 travel trailer. I have never done winter camping before and I'm wondering if there are any concerns about sleeping with the propane furnace running all night? Is it safe to do so? Should I crack a window open? Thanks!
marstar7 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 10:54 AM   #2

Make sure the propane/carbon dioxide sensor and fire/smoke alarm are working, but otherwise its relatively safe if the furnace is in good working condition and operating as designed.
Furrion Vision S 7” Rear and Side View Cameras
2021JayFlight28BHS is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 11:21 AM   #3

The furnace is completely safe as the combustion side of it is separate from the heated inside air. The dangerous gases are suppose to remain outside.

In any event I always crack a window open even without furnace use. Granted these things aren't exactly air tight but you still should allow a little new air to come in to offset your co2 outbreaths. If you were in a sealed enclosure you would die after using up the available oxygen.

If you are not hooked up to 120 volt power you also need to be aware that your battery may be dead in the morning. Furnaces love to suck 12 volt power.

Jim

Retired electronic technician (45 years in the field)
2017 Greyhawk 29W (solar & many other mods)
wife (maybe I should have given her top billing)
JimD is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 12-07-2020, 11:33 AM   #4

X2 on all of it

I always keep my bathroom vent cracked open, and a couple windows at the beds. This helps the moisture in the air to escape verses condense on every cool surface inside the TT.

2012 Jayco X23B
2020 Ram Laramie 3500 SRW Air ride 50Gal fuel tank.
2007 Dodge Dakota Quad Cab (sold)
Equal-I-zer 4-Point Sway Control