Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 03-04-2015, 06:54 PM   #11
Member
 
Jimw606's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jul 2014
Location: Morehead,
Posts: 82
I think you should read the manual, for the tanks, when you get your camper. Some of the answer above are correct though.

Welcome aboard, and all them "stupid questions" gives us the go ahead to show how smart we are.(:-)
__________________

Jimw606 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 07:11 PM   #12
Senior Member
 
oldmanAZ's Avatar
 
Join Date: Dec 2014
Location: AZ
Posts: 7,047
We'll be getting our first travel trailer soon. I will be asking the technician questions like yours at the PDI.

We've done a ton of camping and trailer towing, but we've NEVER had propane, electrical, and water systems like our new trailer will have. We'll need to use and understand those systems so I hope the person doing the PDI is ready for all the questions I have.
__________________

__________________
Sherm & Terry w/rescues Eydie (min Schnauzer) Steve RIP (std Poodle)
2015 Jay Flight 27RLS (Camped: 102 nights '15, 90 nights '16, 70 nights '17 so far)
2006 Ford F350 6.0 PSD, Lariat, 4WD, CC, LB, SRW, auto., Camper pkg.
oldmanAZ is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 07:45 PM   #13
Site Team
 
Crabman's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Virginia`s Eastern Shore
Posts: 14,654
If equipped with the autochangeover valve it may look like the image below. You turn the valve to the service cylinder and when that runs out it automatically switches to the other or "reserve" cylinder.




I have the manual regulator as pictured below. It will draw off whichever tank is turned on, or both at the same time.


__________________
2017 Coachmen Catalina 283RKS
2004 Chevy 2500 HD CC 6.0l
2010 Jayflight 28BHS (sold)
Crabman is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 08:11 PM   #14
Senior Member
 
Paintinfool3's Avatar
 
Join Date: Apr 2014
Location: Fort Wayne
Posts: 1,272
I like to manually change mine so I know when one is empty... that way I can take the empty one and refill if you have both of them on and it switches automatically then when you run out your out ... could leave you in a situation if it was cold and you needed the furnace lol
__________________
2011 F250 King Ranch Crew Cab Diesel , 2015 Jayco Eagle 338 rets
Paintinfool3 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 08:16 PM   #15
Senior Member
 
Bookemdanno's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Frisco
Posts: 1,560
Just food for thought...and only because it happened to me. We were camping this last New Year's Eve and I ran out of propane in my one tank in the middle of the night with the furnace running in about 30 degree weather. I woke up at 6 a.m. and was freezing. Luckily I was aware that the one tank was running low, so I had to go outside and turn on the other propane tank. It all worked out, but I would have preferred to have run out in the middle of the day...Oh well, just another lesson learned!


Dan
__________________
Dan
'16 Ram 3500 MC CTD Dually, 4:10 rear
'14 Ram 2500 MC CTD (gone)
'14 287BHBE (gone)
'16 North Point 377RLBH (current and hopefully last)
Bookemdanno is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-04-2015, 11:10 PM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2015
Location: Havre
Posts: 148
Quote:
Originally Posted by Paintinfool3 View Post
I like to manually change mine so I know when one is empty... that way I can take the empty one and refill if you have both of them on and it switches automatically then when you run out your out ... could leave you in a situation if it was cold and you needed the furnace lol
And that is precisely how I want it to work. I will essentially live and work out of my RV for many months and I would prefer to run one tank out completely, switch to a full tank, and take the empty tank into town to fill up so I'm never out of propane.

There's certainly a lot to learn.

Thank you everyone for your time and assistance. It is much appreciated.
__________________
Todd Klassy
http://www.toddklassy.com
Todd Klassy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 07:55 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2013
Location: Dale Hollow Lake Tn/Ky
Posts: 1,942
NO gauge as oem on most TT's other than the green/red on the regulator.

Easy to manage your propane [if you have 2 tanks], just run on 1 [primary] until empty [no flame on stove or fridge blinks] and then switch to tank 2. After switching tanks, take the empty one to be filled or exchanged. Always keep a full tank as backup. If you've been using gas for a while and are concerned about running out over night, then switch to #2 tank before going to bed but remember to switch back to #1 in the morning so you can use that tank to empty, knowing that #2 tank is still full or near full.
Bassdogs is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 08:22 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
It is not a problem to leave both tanks on. Pretty simple to check gauge indicator once a day. If the indicator is red, switch the lever to the opposite tank. Then you can pull the empty and refill it. I find that much better than just having one tank on and having the furnace shut off at 2 am. I don't relish going out in the freezing weather to switch tanks and re-prime the system. Just my personal way of doing things. We each have our own way and there is no wrong way, just the way you like personally.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 09:25 AM   #19
Senior Member
 
wags999's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2015
Location: Surprise
Posts: 1,499
Quote:
Originally Posted by namusmc65 View Post
It is not a problem to leave both tanks on. Pretty simple to check gauge indicator once a day. If the indicator is red, switch the lever to the opposite tank. Then you can pull the empty and refill it. I find that much better than just having one tank on and having the furnace shut off at 2 am. I don't relish going out in the freezing weather to switch tanks and re-prime the system. Just my personal way of doing things. We each have our own way and there is no wrong way, just the way you like personally.

X2 After a while you will know about how long you can go between fill ups. You don't have to wait until a tank is completely empty, you can fill it at any point, you only pay for the amount of fuel you actually put in the tank. Much like your car gas tank. A full tank should last weeks even using it in cool weather, the furnace being the largest user of fuel. It' not difficult to look at the green or red button once in a while.
__________________
2011 Toyota Tundra double cab
2015 27RLS
wags999 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 03-05-2015, 09:54 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
cekkk's Avatar
 
Join Date: Nov 2010
Location: Murrieta
Posts: 2,421
I'm with Paintinfool3. We spend months in the TT in AZ and so use a tank every now and then. When the furnace conks out, I to the other tank and refill the empty one. It only took running out of both one night with 7 degree temperature outside for my DW to suggest I find a way to not let that happen again.
__________________

cekkk is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 07:26 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.