Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 01-16-2014, 11:01 AM   #21
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
I too am looking into installing one in my OFF-ROAD 14RT POPUP camper. I would go for one that is hard-wired inside the trailer to prevent the possibility of one growing feet and running away from you. The Progressive EMS-LCHW30 (AMAZON) with remote display would be a good choice. This should work well with a generator which may require a simple bonding plug used in one of the 120VAC receptacles...





Just my thoughts...
Roy Ken
__________________

__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 01:31 PM   #22
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 296
What's this about a bonding plug and a generator? I had assumed I'd just plug my rig into the genny via the shore power plug and be good to go. No?


Never mind, apparently there is a bypass switch per this review: http://www.loveyourrv.com/progressiv...del-ems-hw30c/
__________________

s1njin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 01:49 PM   #23
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
I was not so fortunate with my 2KW Honda portable generator 120VAC receptacle. The GROUND connection and the NUETRAL CONNECTION were isolated from each other with my 2KW Honda being the source..

Your generator hookup may work just fine but if you get OPEN GROUND or OPEN NEUTRAL error mesages using the SURGE UNIT between the generator 120VAC output receptacle and the Shore Power Connection than this is what you may have to look into to make it work for you.

I first ran into this using my older 1500WATT INVERTER as a 120VAC power source for my trailer. It would always make my GFCI trip inside the trailer. The fix was to install the bonding plug like shown above.

I'm sure others on here will dime in with more info on this subject... I have not installed the SURGE PROTECTOR yet but have this problem trying to use my older 1500WATT INVERTER as 120VAC power source. I bet I will have the same problem with the NEUTRAL and/or GROUND open error message on the surge unit using my 2KW Honda Generator as source.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 02:00 PM   #24
Senior Member
 
RoyBraddy's Avatar
 
Join Date: Sep 2011
Location: King George
Posts: 2,396
Thanks for the info from the install info for the SURGE PROTECTOR...

"4. Bypass switch on remote panel. Allows me to easily bypass the computer portion of the unit but still keep surge protection. Convenient if I need to run my Champion Generator which has a floating neutral and would cause the EMS-HW30C to shutdown."

I really think I will be a candidate for this statement haha...

It might be safer however to use the bonding plug verses bypassing ON-OFF control.

Roy Ken
__________________
Roy and Carolyn
I claim Horse Creek Country in Southern Ill - Momabear is from North Texas
We live in King George VA
RETIRED DOD DOAF DON CONTRACTOR Electronics Tech 42YRS

"We're burning daylight" - John Wayne
2008 STARCRAFT 14RT OFF-ROAD POPUP with PD9260C and three 85AH 12VDC batteries
2010 F150 FX4 5.4 GAS with 3.73 gears - Super Cab - Towing Package - 2KW Honda EU2000i Gen
K9PHT (since 1957) 146.52Mhz
"We always have a PLAN B"
RoyBraddy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 02:48 PM   #25
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by RoyBraddy View Post
It might be safer however to use the bonding plug verses bypassing ON-OFF control.
Roy Ken
I dunno. If I can't trust my Honda EU3000is to provide clean power to my rig I probably can't trust anything. For me I'd be perfectly fine with the switch. Now if I had a Home Depot open frame contractor generator banging around .... probably not.
s1njin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-16-2014, 09:36 PM   #26
Member
 
Join Date: Nov 2009
Location: southwest pa.
Posts: 50
just wondered from those who use these devices and you plug in and it says power can't be used what happens in your experience . does the CG. bring in an electrician or do you leave with a refund if no other sites are available.
Haul n it all is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 12:01 PM   #27
Senior Member
 
Ladywendolyn's Avatar
 
Join Date: Aug 2011
Location: Manitoba Canada
Posts: 553
Quote:
Originally Posted by Haul n it all View Post
just wondered from those who use these devices and you plug in and it says power can't be used what happens in your experience . does the CG. bring in an electrician or do you leave with a refund if no other sites are available.
We carry a converter cord so that we can plug into a different ampage. (I think it plugs into a 50 amp and we only draw 30), so it is great if there is a problem with the 30 amp service, or the outlet on the pole is worn out etc.
__________________


Lady Wendolyn Jayflight 28BHS

For a tour of my glamorous, cool camper, and an "Ad a bifold door Mod: http://mycoolcampingcaravanadventures.blogspot.ca

For these Mods: Master bedroom shelving in closets and countertop extension: http://mycoolcampingcaravanadventure...es-camper.html

For this Mod: Adding a wall light switch to the master bedroom:
http://mycoolcampingcaravanadventure...ht-switch.html
Ladywendolyn is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 01-17-2014, 12:25 PM   #28
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Sep 2013
Location: Jersey
Posts: 296
Quote:
Originally Posted by Ladywendolyn View Post
We carry a converter cord so that we can plug into a different ampage. (I think it plugs into a 50 amp and we only draw 30), so it is great if there is a problem with the 30 amp service, or the outlet on the pole is worn out etc.
I KNEW I had that 50amp dogbone for SOMETHING ...
__________________

s1njin is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 10:19 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.