Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 02-08-2011, 05:11 PM   #1

Theft Issue?

Hi there folks,

I am fairly new to camping. We usually go to Texas State Parks which I must say are really nicely kept and have never had an issue with theft.
Just bought a new portable grill that is fairly expensive (for me at least). It is light enough to put in the back of my truck but big enough to store it inside my TT at night.

I know folks that go camping are usually the most easy going down to earth folks, but though I'd ask if you think i should worry about my grill getting stolen?
And yes, I know crap could happen no matter where you are at...
I guess i am trying to avoid hearing those nice words from my wife: " I told you so..." :-)
Old 02-08-2011, 05:35 PM   #2

Can you use a bicycle cable to somehow lock/secure it to the picnic table at night and when you're away from your site? That way you won't have to stow it in your truck or camper at night.
wiscampsin is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 06:34 PM   #3

Send a message via Yahoo to WestTXmed
Go to Walmart and buy a cable lock. I got mine there for my 2 Yamaha generators and I cable lock them to the TT bumper. I paid $20 for each one and they are blue and six feet long. It will keep prying eyes "honest" and determined thieves just a little bit delayed.

I stay at TX state parks all the time. TX has an amazing park system.

My top 3:

Palo Duro (the canyon)
Pedernales (the river)
Davis Mountains (the mountains)

JMHO.....

"Here fishy, fishy, fishy......" - Me

"Never take a laxative and an Ambien in the same night." - Dr. Dad

2009 Eagle Superlight 303RKS, Hensley Arrow, 4 sets of Bal stabilizers to make the wife happy, and 2 Yamaha EF2000is inverter generators. Towed by a 2013 Toyota Tundra 4x4 CrewMax 5.7L.
WestTXmed is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 02-08-2011, 06:36 PM   #4