Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 04-09-2020, 07:29 AM   #1

Towing Question - New to this

Hi,
I am new to camping and am struggling with wrapping my head around what I can tow vs what I should tow. I have a family of 5 (2 adults and 3 kids).

I have a 2016 Ford F150 ecoboost 3.5 with a 3.55 axle. The towing capacity of the truck is 11,500 per the owners manual.
GVWR is 7000 lbs.
Max Tongue Weight is 1,100.
Combined weight is 1764.

I am looking at a 2017 JAYCO JAY FLIGHT SLX 267-BHSW.
GVWR: 7000
DRY WEIGHT: 5425
PAYLOAD CAPACITY: 1575
HITCH WEIGHT: 635

Can I safely tow this? Or will it be a white knuckle drive?
Thank you in advance for your help. I don't want to be the unsafe driver.
wilson is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 07:43 AM   #2

Your primary concern when doing the math, is payload. Take that number, and start subtracting.

Start by subtracting the tongue weight. The tongue weight in your numbers looks too low. A good working number to determine the tongue weight is to multiply the loaded trailer weight by .13. Subtract that number from your payload.

Have a topper? Subtract that weight. And the weight of the people in the tow vehicle. And pets. And the generator in the truck bed. And, it's fuel. So, everything in the truck gets subtracted from payload. You're good, on paper at least, so long as you end up with a positive number.

The only true way to do the math is to take the entire rig to the Cat scales, but that's not so practical prior to purchase.

I'm ignoring what your truck is rated to tow, as it' much more likely you'll run out of payload before you run out of tow rating.

P.S.
Your question is one of the most common here on the forum, but you're the first person to show up with all their figures. Good on you! Welcome aboard.
Siamese is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-09-2020, 08:11 AM   #3
Site Team