Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 07-20-2015, 09:04 PM   #1

Trailer Covers

Took our 23MBH Whitehawk on its maiden voyage this weekend and was a big success! Can't wait to use it the rest of the camping year but don't want the season to go to fast. What I was wondering when the time comes, should I put a cover over the trailer for the winter months? Will this just cause moisture produce and promote rot? I see a lot of campers do cover the wheels and I've seen airconditioners covered as well. Just been wondering what anyone thinks.
#1Remembories is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 09:38 PM   #2

Send a message via Skype™ to jamaddox
I did not for my first winter but I am not an expert. I was just not wanting to use a latter To put it on with. I really would like an answer as well.
Equalizer WDH with 10k bars
jamaddox is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 07-20-2015, 10:13 PM   #3

Thanks Jamaddox, hopefully someone will have an answer. One of the reasons I'm curious is that I had an air conditioner /furnace repair man over to the house for a repair on our furnace . We got on the subject of air conditioners and covers. I told him I had the cover on my unit to protect it from the elements in the winter months and when it wasn't being used. He told me they were to protect the unit from falling ice from the eves trough. That if I left it on all the time when it wasn't needed, that it would hold moisture and eventually rust out parts and shorten the life of the unit. Kind of makes sense. I'm wondering if it would do the same to my trailer if I put one on.
Old 07-21-2015, 02:23 AM   #4

100% Yes

From a fellow Ontarian I will tell you 100% yes put a cover on! There are a few very good reason to do this. Particularly in our climate and almost all of them protect your investment long term.