Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 05-24-2013, 04:25 AM   #1

User reviews of model 197

Newbie here. My wife and I have been searching for a compact trailer. Almost bought an R Pod, but decided to keep looking. We have now found the 197 with slide. My question is does anyone on here own one or have any experience with that model?

Also, my tow vehicle is a Ford F150 4x4 and the trailer only weighs 3750 dry. Question is do I need a weight distribution hitch? The 197 hitch weight is 425lbs.

Thanks
Jma3910 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 04:52 AM   #2

No experience with that model but I would still look into a WDH/sway bar just to be safe.
exjay1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 05-24-2013, 02:31 PM   #3

Jma....

Hello, we bought a 2013 Jayco 197 and picked it up the end of August last summer. We used it a couple of times then put it away for the winter. The trailer is awesome. We are camping in it as I respond to your thread. We upgraded from a 2007 17 export. It is a perfect trailer for 2 or 3 people. After that it can get crowded. With the bunk option above the the queen size bed, it will sleep 5 using the dinette. The slide was the big selling point for us. It really opens up the floor space. If you do buy one, the only advice I have is really look over the trailer inside out and underneath during the pre delivery inspection. We had a minor issue with a few things and I fixed them during our first trip with it. I notified the dealer and Jayco sent me a check for correcting the problems. I did have to provide pictures and documentation though for that to happen. If there are problems, rest assured Jayco WILL stand behind their product.