Jayco RV Owners Forum
 


Reply
 
Thread Tools Display Modes
 
Old 04-24-2014, 07:47 PM   #11
Senior Member
 
Threebutchers's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Planet Earth
Posts: 6,818
I have no problem or concern using an adapter....but that's probably because my 20A receptacle is 12" from the service panel, my service consistently delivers 120V, and my electric monitoring system tells me the TT air conditioner draws 3A on fan and 4A with the compressor running.

I'm very happy to have added mods that monitor my 120V and 12V electric systems. Knowledge is power

__________________

Threebutchers is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 08:35 PM   #12
Site Team
 
norty1's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Charleston, SC
Posts: 12,043
Main thing to remember is not to overload the 15 or 20a feed as it will not be protected by a breaker in your rig. It is easy to overload an extension cord.

I do this often and have to limit our consumption to lights and fans. The converter draws some of what is coming in so stay away from high amp appliances like MW, heater etc.
__________________

__________________
Moderator
2011 351RLTS Eagle, Mor/Ryde suspension & pin box
06 F350 Lariat PSD, SRW, LB, CC, EGR delete kit, 16K DrawTite hitch, Timbrens, TST TPMS

Can't find what you're looking on JOF? Try:Jayco Owners Forum Custom Google Search
"It's easier to fool people than to convince them that they have been fooled." - Mark Twain
norty1 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-24-2014, 08:48 PM   #13
Senior Member
 
Join Date: May 2010
Posts: 552
Quote:
Originally Posted by Mustang65 View Post
Prior to the EAGLE, we had a TrailManor TT and I kept it plugged into my 20 Amp yard outlet. I usually started the TT's AC up once a month for a maintenance run, as I do with a lot of other electrical things that do not get used that often. About the 3rd month (June) the house 20Amp breaker tripped and not thinking much of it, I reset it. When I tried to restart the TT's AC, all it did was HUMMMMM. Not good. What I found was that the AC's Hard Start capacitor had died. When I inquired about it, the first question asked was what type of service you have feeding the TT. I said it was a 20Amp line. He said on some days (hot/Humid) the AC Compressor will need over 20 amps to start, and that is what probably killed the Hard Start Capacitor. After that, I ran a new line out to the TT and installed a 30 Amp Female RV receptacle (Lowes has them), and a 30 Amp breaker. Since then we have not had an issue. Would I try the AC on a 20Amp service, no!!! Then again, others may not have had any issue with 20Amp service. I just do not want to chance it.
Don
Your dealer, like many dealers, is misinformed on air conditioning. Ambient temperature, humidity, nor altitude have any effect on the starting or operation of an air conditioner. The entire refrigerant circuit is a sealed system. The compressor sees nothing but equal pressures on both suction and high side as it starts up.
__________________
2010 22FB(Ret)
2013 F250 XLT
I now have a Keystone Outback, but I try to help when I can.
---------------------
Bitter Gun Owner
Bitter Clinger
Armed Infidel
Bob Landry is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 07:59 AM   #14
Senior Member
 
Seann45's Avatar
 
Join Date: Jun 2010
Location: Saskatoon Sask Canada
Posts: 9,701
Quote:
Originally Posted by MTDreams View Post
Clubhouse, thanks for the honest reply!

My Jayco Owner's manual, under ELECTRICAL SYSTEM-30A has multiple WARNINGS:
"Do not use any cheater plug, adapter or extension cord to reduce incoming AC power..."
"Do not...or adapt the 30-amp power cord plug to connect it to a receptacle for which it is not designed"
"Do not connect the receptacle to an extension cord (basically talking about overheating here...)

Lawyers talking... just do not try to use the A/C if you are using an adapter.
__________________
Seann
2004 Chev Silverado Duramax optioned past the max. 2009 Jayco Eagle 308 RLS 765 watts of solar, 6-6 volt batteries (696 amp hour), 2000 watt (4000 surge) whole house inverter.
175 days boondocking in 2017
215/2016, 211/2015, 196/14, 247/13, 193/12

Seann45 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 08:21 AM   #15
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
My fifth wheel requires 50 amp service but I hook in to a 30 amp outlet at home without any problems. Even with air running I am only drawing about 14 amps on one line. I have two ac units but only run the one occasionally if I am working in the unit. If you go to a 'Good Sam Samboree, the only service usually provided at State Fair Grounds etc. is normally 30 amp service. Never had any problems.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 08:30 AM   #16
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2011
Location: Vienna
Posts: 1,645
My fifth wheel requires 50 amp service but I hook in to a 30 amp outlet at home without any problems. Even with air running I am only drawing about 14 amps on one line. I have two ac units but only run the one occasionally if I am working in the unit. If you go to a 'Good Sam Samboree, the only service usually provided at State Fair Grounds etc. is normally 30 amp service. Never had any problems.
__________________

Joe Hinson
2010 Jayco Quest G2(SOLD)
2014 Jayco Eagle 33.5RETS
2007 Ram 2500 5.9L Cummins(SOLD)
2015 Ram 2500 6.7L Cummins 4WD
:)
namusmc65 is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 10:05 AM   #17
Senior Member
 
Jagiven's Avatar
 
Join Date: May 2012
Location: Minnesota
Posts: 4,109
I use a 15amp to 30 amp adaptor at home all the time, I have ran the AC for short periods of time. At our current house I do plug into a 20 amp outlet, the adaptor is only rated for 15 amps. When I bought our HTT, I spoke with the dealer for sometime on the use of the adaptor. They stated they have had more than one person bring their TT in for a cord replacement as they were running their AC and melted the cord adaptor onto the plug and ruined the cord. I have placed my hand on my adaptor from time to time and it clearly a little warm at times, and that was without running the AC.

I also have a 50 amp to 30 amp adaptor. I have never used it, and I would like to keep it that way. If you have one and this is sometimes a controversial topic. Your power cord between your internal fuse box and the electrical post is not properly protected. If you would have an issue with the cord, such as worn cable insulation, you could over heat and melt the cord inside the cable storage box long before the 50 amp breaker would trip. The internal 30 amp breaker will not protect the cord, just the items downstream of it. That is my two cents
Jagiven is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 10:57 AM   #18
Senior Member
 
Join Date: Jan 2014
Location: Aurora CO
Posts: 2,336
doesn't the source have a 30 amp breaker that provides that protection?

Genset or Post?

I would not convert a 50 amp service down to a 30 amp cord. But you can convert a 30 amp service up to a 50 amp cord cant you?
__________________
Jim & Kim from Colorado

2014 Eagle 30.5 RLS
2015 Dodge 3500HD SRW 6.7L
Click on my profile for Mods and notes
Jmooney is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 11:11 AM   #19
Member
 
Join Date: Mar 2014
Location: Fort Worth
Posts: 42
My dealer gave me a dog bone adapter when I purchased my trailer......
lhpelton is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 04-25-2014, 11:28 AM   #20
Senior Member
 
Iraqvet05's Avatar
 
Join Date: Mar 2013
Location: Kansas City
Posts: 1,114
I suspect some people using a 30 to 15A adapter were also using smaller gauge extension cords around the house that are not capable of carrying the load of an air conditioner. If you put too much load on an average household extension cord, the cord will get hot and could start a fire
__________________

__________________
2013 26BH w/ 4 plain rims and some rust
2001 Silverado 2500HD 6.0 gasser
Black Bear programmed ECM
Iraqvet05 is offline   Reply With Quote
Reply

Thread Tools
Display Modes

Posting Rules
You may not post new threads
You may not post replies
You may not post attachments
You may not edit your posts

BB code is On
Smilies are On
[IMG] code is On
HTML code is Off
Trackbacks are Off
Pingbacks are Off
Refbacks are Off


» Virginia State Campgrounds

Reviews provided by

Powered by vBadvanced CMPS v3.2.3

All times are GMT -6. The time now is 12:50 AM.


Powered by vBulletin® Version 3.8.8 Beta 1
Copyright ©2000 - 2017, vBulletin Solutions, Inc.
Copyright 2002-2016 Social Knowledge, LLC All Rights Reserved.