Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 06-11-2015, 12:22 AM   #1

Voiding the Warranty?

I'm still new at this trailer thing so I am here, again, with a question. I am looking to install a receiver to the rear bumper of my Jayflight so I can use my bike rack I have for our 4Runner. The rack holds 4 bicycles. My father in-law is a certified bodyman (30+ years) and is thinking about how to weld the receiver on while not causing stress to the bumper. He has a couple of good ideas but I have been looking on this forum and have seen some pretty good ideas in the 5th wheel group. Now any input about weight stress on the bumper is welcome, as well as pictures of how you might have done this. My other concern is whether or not doing something like this would void the warranty on the unit since I'd be altering the trailer. Thoughts?
rmsorcy is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 06:09 AM   #2

your bumper should have a weight rating. Mine is about 150 lbs. You can purchase bolt on receiver hitches specific for RV bumpers which would save you any welding. just ensure hitch, bike rack and bikes don't exceed your weight limit.
most of the hitches post there weights.
Old 06-11-2015, 06:14 AM   #3

Well, I have read here that it is not recommended to install a receiver to your bumper. I think the manual also states a bumper weight limit. I have also read some members here mounting a receiver but welding the support to the frame itself. I'm sure someone will be along that has better knowledge in this area.

As for voiding your warranty, I'm sure Jayco wouldn't approve mounting the receiver on the bumper. I would call customer service at Jayco and ask them.
HD Trailering Package with Integrated Brake Controller

Camping Couple is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 06-11-2015, 06:25 AM   #4