Journey with Confidence RV GPS App RV Trip Planner RV LIFE Campground Reviews RV Maintenance Take a Speed Test Free 7 Day Trial ×
Jayco RV Owners Forum

Old 10-01-2018, 02:43 PM   #1

Water heater Pilot keeps flaming out

I’m pretty new to Jayco and the Forum, but I see posts on here that are very helpful! My wife & I just returned from an 8-day camp in our Swift 154BH and, on the 3rd day, the water heater pilot light kept flaming-out and triggered the LP alarm inside (thank God!). After doing a soap-test on all the outside fittings and finding no leaks, I noticed the pilot had gone out, so assumed one of the 2 LP tanks had gone empty, though I had added the 2nd tank with an automatic regulator, which should have started drawing from the full tank. However, after manually moving the lever of the regulator over to the 2nd tank and firing up the pilot again, the same thing happened within a half hour. Fortunately ours also has the water heater electric anode installed, so we were able to enjoy hot water for the remainder of our vacation, it just took longer to heat.
Now that we’re home and I can safely test the operation without us sleeping inside, it still occurs no matter which tank I’m feeding from, though it may take an hour or more for the pilot to flame-out. What’s also odd is, with the water heater Off and on electric-only, we have had no problem with running the frig on LP and cooking on the stove, so it’s not likely a bad tank of LP, since one of the tanks was replaced with a quality refill before we left.
Anyone have had a similar issue or thoughts?
Partsbob is offline   Reply With Quote
Old 10-01-2018, 02:58 PM   #2

Mine has done that before. Needed to clean around the pilot light real good. There is also a sleeve around the pilot light that you can adjust that controlls how much oxygen mixes with the flame/propane. I had to adjust that too. Should be able to look it up on you tube or google search on how to adjust it.